HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: ACG

God of War Review "Buy, Wait for Sale, Rent, Never Touch?"

17612 ratings | 575624 views
Karak reviews God of War for PS4. God of War is available April 20th Review Code for God of War 4 supplied by publisher My Amazon Affiliate link. Buying anything with this link helps ACG http://amzn.to/2igWHDV https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming 👉 More PC Game Reviews https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL62tz83FJJjlEpRdOT63lruxsTA6m1t9s 👈 👉 More Console Game Reviews https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL62tz83FJJjlP-rz4qKNts3Kwf3iwhbpG 👈 Integrity Statement* Any game code supplied by PR/Dev is purchased again upon its release and given away to Patrons. No game is reviewed for free and no sponsorships for game reviews taken. My money is on the line just like everyone's. Patron - Merch 👉 https://teespring.com/stores/acg?page=1 👈 👉 https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming 👈 👉 paypal.me/ACGsponsor 👈 👉 http://store.steampowered.com/curator/6233509-Angry-Centaur-Gaming/ 👈 Social Stuff & Reddit 👉 Subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/ACGVids/ 👉 My Twitter: https://twitter.com/JeremyPenter 👉 Podcasts on Googleplay https://goo.gl/ad34zw 👉 My Itunes: https://goo.gl/SEj1bW I am not one of those bigger gaming website no 2 minute reviews here only details. Videogame reviews all the time. So if you are tired of short reviews, ones that don't discuss all the game, this is the right place. No big website 2 minute stuff here. Coverage includes ps4, xbox one, pc, xbox 360, Wii, Wiiu, Switch, and digital storefronts like Steam, as well as companies like Microsoft, Sony and Nintendo Buy, wait for a sale, rent, or never touch it. The Patented Karak review system to see if a game is worth a buy.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (2555)
Binyamin Fredman (2 days ago)
You didn't rate it on the scale though
Josh R (3 days ago)
This game was the second time I preordered a game ever, and by God was I not disappointed. It drew me in from minute one and I couldn't put it down for a month. Only reason I did was because the mid-year school break was over and even then, on weekends I still grab it like a deprived addict grabs a syringe. The only real issue I've had were the killcams/finishers/whatever; since there's only one per enemy type, it becomes incredibly noticeable once you take on Muspelheim. To anyone who complains about the combat with Leviathan: git gud, you fucking scrub. It's one of the most satisfying weapons I've ever had the pleasure to use in a game.
PHILL SHIVELY (8 days ago)
I Don't like the over the Shoulder View
Kit Carson (10 days ago)
Well about halfway through this game........I have lost interest. It is a very, very scripted game, even the boss fights are Cinematic. All pre scripted and there is not a great deal of exploration as you are restricted to the boundaries imposed by the game. So.....lost interest real quick..... Cheers!
mcherolly (19 days ago)
I don’t buy a game until I’ve seen your review. Keek it up dude. Legend!!
SnowCrust (1 month ago)
Can't wait for God of war 10, the Buddhist realm edition, krato vs Buddha
M J (1 month ago)
Boy
Jonathon Myska (1 month ago)
Took a while to get used to the new controls, it wasn't till I finished the main story that I realized I could change the control scheme.
Sidharth Sreekumar (1 month ago)
RIP
Firelitten (1 month ago)
This game is really trying to recreate the dark souls difficulty, but you realise how much they've failed in that aspect when you fight the valkyries. Dark souls bosses are very balanced and they all should feel beatable, that's what keeps the player going, but the valkyries are some of the most bullshit things I've ever fought. Other then that, this game is game of the year for me so far.
Eric Lin (1 month ago)
Plot twist: Kratos is actually a projection of Karak in an alternate dimension, venting his rage at the current state of the video game industry. You gotta admit there's some resemblance there
peter hastings (1 month ago)
Shop by me had GoW for half price. Instead of 70 euros, just 35 euros. No thought about it, i had to buy it, and am enjoying it
branden singletary (1 month ago)
Masterpiece
Black Dave (1 month ago)
Dad of the Year. Happy Father’s Day to Kratos. A trip to the Lake of Nine and some fishing with “boy”...
aka jean (1 month ago)
Racist game.... worse than kingdom come ;)
Wouldnt Chuliketoknow (2 months ago)
God of war very long? Takes about 2 to 3 times that to beat Dark Souls.
Wouldnt Chuliketoknow (2 months ago)
I'm not trying to be sarcastic but I'm a very old school gamer and if 30-35 is considered very long what is average? I rarely play games nowadays and was looking at this game trying to see if I might like it because I enjoy more difficult games like the Dark Souls series.
ACG (2 months ago)
takes 500 to beat monopoly. You are conflating
Lesser weevil (2 months ago)
Man the fov is rubbish the previous games where so epic the camera gave you a feeling of scale now its just like any outher third person game.The only reason to buy this is to here Christopher judge's voice acting. Imo
Saint Boot (2 months ago)
I want this game sooooo bad! (and also the entire series on ps3 so I can do everything in it)
Justin McMillian (2 months ago)
Great review again sir. Hard to believe no dlc the way it ends.
RoxyLuffer (2 months ago)
The only thing I wish that this game had was customizable Controls. the Axe controls were a bit clunky to me.
RoxyLuffer (2 months ago)
OMG! I love that Altered Beast reference XD Props to ANYONE else who gets the reference XD
Darth Bane (2 months ago)
I honestly felt disappointed with this. Yes it's a great game in it's own right but I preferred the old school god of war games where Kratos was always angry and wasn't afraid to display it and fuck up some god wannabe's day. I felt there was too much just slowly walking around for the cinematic feel dont care to have control taking out of my hands as often as it did and having only 2 weapons and no ability to jump was rather jarring. Still a great game though very beautiful but felt too limiting in terms of movement and exploring.
Arkansas Razorback (2 months ago)
I agree. Haven't beat it yet, but that's the feeling I have. I just beat TLOU Remastered since I just bought a ps4 and it feels very similar to that. Very slow and cinematic which is fine, but I wish it was faster at times. It is still a fantastic game so far. If the FOV was a little further back and it was a bit faster-paced, it would be incredible. The devs went in another direction and it turned out great, so I applaud them for that. I can't complain too much since I just bought my ps4 because Xbox has been disappointing me lately lol. I do miss the God of War 1 and 2, though.
Christian Thiel (2 months ago)
Stupid Question...Buy! What a Fantastic Game!
Mr. Peanutz Gaming (2 months ago)
Should I really buy this Dad and son simulator? Uhhh, no
lil Gun God (2 months ago)
I just bought a ps4 pro to try this and unfortunately i think i just might quit my job this game made me realize real life dosent even have graphics this good 😒
Arbentis (2 months ago)
When he was saying ... "Gameplay is Exploration mixed with Combat" I instantly thought: "Thanks, another destroyed Hack&Slay franchise" ... Fuck this world.
Mahir Ahmed (2 months ago)
Arbentis have u not seen any gameplay? The combos are amazing
Skyler B (2 months ago)
Pretty much the only two studios who aren't looking at finding ways to screw gamers are Sony (very ironic), Ubisoft (far cry 5 has micro transactions but they are far from required). 2k and EA (Activision looks to do the same with BO4) they are only interested in pushing bare bone 60 dollar games with micro transactions and loot crates. I am hoping we will continue to have a few publishers and developers that still care about quality over how much they can screw their customers.
Witcher Bruce B (2 months ago)
Since this game has been out for about a month I feel like I can talk about my diss appointment don't get me wrong this was a good game just minor gripe. Throughout the whole story and most side content you see firsthand the pain and wrath of a certain god of thunder I just wish we would have fought him I felt like it was implied during the game and it was a let down when he didn't even make an appearance
Mahir Ahmed (2 months ago)
Are u dumb he did show up. If u played the game u would know
tom dai (2 months ago)
ehh try going back to your house after u beat baldur
The Driver (2 months ago)
These are by far the best game reviews. When I watch IGN and GameSpot reviews I feel like they are afraid of giving big game publishers bad reviews. But more to the point, they give games number scores. This tells me nothing about the game. I like the premise of Buy/Sale/Rent/Never Touch. I hope your channel propers. Thanks for the quality writing and long-form reviews.
TitanTCG - Cards (2 months ago)
LET ME END THE DEBATE Which is better? PS4 or the XBOX One. PS4 and XBOX are good in their own ways, XBOX has bad exclusives, but PS4 have Life of Black Tiger. So I say to be a true gamer, we get both...(and add a PC while you're at it)
Liu Chan (2 months ago)
That game is trash like ninja gaiden
Liu Chan (2 months ago)
That game is trash like ninja gaiden
Santosh Reddy Bommana (3 months ago)
Best game reviewer!
Eiad Tarabulsi (3 months ago)
A great review that's detailed, enjoyable and honest as always. Thanks Karak. I really appreciate it!
Doğukan TEK (3 months ago)
Do you think it is the best ps4 exc. right now?
Bryan Dedon (3 months ago)
How can you put under cons, impossible to review without spoiling? You do realize you did a 17 minute review without spoiling it right?I'm not bitching about the review, it was a good one, I just thought that was odd to put under cons. Mentioning it is one thing, but to say it's a con? That's weird.
ACG (3 months ago)
its also a joke. thus the joke
cardiacade (3 months ago)
Have to say, after spending quite a bit of time with the game, I'm starting to get a tad weary fighting the same enemies over and over again.
TitanTCG - Cards (2 months ago)
Yup, Baldur is the defining attribute to the bosses.
Tabris (3 months ago)
A "Walking the walk" for God of War would be so, so good.
Daniel J (3 months ago)
You do as you wish, but putting hard to review as a con doesn't really concern us viewers. Worth saying though, just not as a con in the end without clarifying anything. It is impossible to do a fair review without spoilers for this game. Not a con in the normal way though.
ACG (3 months ago)
correct thus the joke
Ryan Kassoy (3 months ago)
I haven't played any god of war games but this one looks really good. If i wanted to play this, would you think it is necessary for me to play all the other games?
daniel Shah (3 months ago)
Ryan Kassoy no this game is a soft reboot to the series.
mark keenan (3 months ago)
You should copyrighted your beard dude, Kratos is clearly based on the mighty Karak!
Jeff Weiz (3 months ago)
You're the first review to not gush over the game being "one long scene with no interruptions" or however they phrase it, almost every open world game streams in data now where there are no noticeable load times. and the game absolutely loads when you fast travel, you basically walk into a waiting room while your new zone loads. Reviewers are sucking this game's dick so hard that they're looking through rose colored glasses, this is the only honest review I've seen. That said, I love the game and am on my 2nd playthrough, my one complaint is basically "it's not enough", meaning once you've fully explored and got the best fully upgraded gear, the party's basically over. There's not much of an end game. I was surprised by how much this game hooked me.
Hank Slaght (3 months ago)
Just grabbed a copy today. Will be playing all night tonight !
Romina Talpos (3 months ago)
Thank you for this video! :*
Kermit 5 (3 months ago)
*BOI*
JCity 17 (3 months ago)
I normally hate variable uncapped frame rates, but for some reason this game was way better for me on performance mode. Great review!
Dash Rendar (3 months ago)
I have to say that I didn’t like this game. The combat is slow, repetitive and gets boring quick. The camera is too close and I often would get attacked from behind before I realized an enemy was there. I also got really tired of the backtracking that just seemed to lengthen the game to double what it should have been. My biggest complaint is with game developers, especially Sony. They have started the last 4 or 5 years to make their games more movie than game. Don’t get me wrong, I like a good story, but I don’t want to watch a movie when I should be playing a game. This game had way too many cutscenes all the time that kill the flow of the game and the boss fights. What really bothers me Is that the developers of this game changed the gameplay to appeal more to the masses. They don’t care about the fans. They knew they would make way more $$$$$ changing the gameplay from a brutal gory as hell hack and slash that really made you feel powerful to a story heavy narrative with a helpless child who needs a father storyline.
happy man (3 months ago)
If you complain cause it's not like the old ones your dumb hands down the best god of war it's a reboot of the series this game wouldn't of done as good if they kept the same formula ascension didn't do as good cause everyone was getting tired of the same game
ACG (3 months ago)
who
CRAB JAB (3 months ago)
ONE ISSUE with the game and it’s really screwed me off. NEW GAME PLUS don’t exist ..... YET!!! I done it on the level just below hardest as I do with them all. Campaign then restart on GOD MODE and 100% the game with everything. Bit pissed off cos I just finished it and you literally lose everything. Real pain in the ass It will he updated but I’m angry cos I have absolutely loved this game. It’s outstanding. It’s debatable if it’s the best game this Gen. As far as Exclusives go? God Of War Horizon Zero Dawn Nier Automata BloodBorne Nioh I mean there’s loads but God Of War really has nailed something special. This will be a game people look back on in years to come.
GtheMVP (3 months ago)
I just don't think I can get past this FOV. I've heard no good reason for it, other than speculation that it was implemented to improve fidelity/framerates. Any other 90+ (85 as a min) FOV whores play this and still like it?
Sol Invictus (3 months ago)
Being playing this and I think it's a competent and well made game but not justifying the hyperbole accompanying it's release. It's generic and cliched especially the design or the enemies, environments and characters. The money lavished on this shows but money cannot provide character and flavour which this is lacking.
IKKIsama (3 months ago)
Quick turn is 90 degree?! Lolwut you know it's 180 degree, right?
Sung Min Tamayo (3 months ago)
Been PC gaming forever now (+ Switch as of last year)... Is this the tipping point for a PS4? I feel like if I get a PS4 then I will be sunk in an endless stream of exclusives
Caesar C. (3 months ago)
Great review! What difficulty did you beat it on ? I’ve been playing on Give me a Challenge for about 5-6 hours but man it’s tough, and in a weird way, not a dark souls/bloodborne way which I enjoy. Is the game still enjoyable/challenging on normal?
atelierx naru (3 months ago)
babysitting kids, and no mini sex game? thanks but no thanks...
THANE MITHRA (3 months ago)
Boy!
Derek Henderson (3 months ago)
Hey Karak, have you thought about adding time-stamps for each of the separate review sections? I love to come back to your videos specifically for your sound/music/voice section, which is overlooked by all other reviewers.
The Amazing Lucas (3 months ago)
Mario Odyssey has better boss fights than this game
Daniel Lim (3 months ago)
I thought there were 4 difficulties?. Let me turn my game on.
BengeJ Uknowit (3 months ago)
I've never played any GoW game before playing this!
I HATE CABBAGE (3 months ago)
I bought it, play it. I never forget this phenomenal experience.
Decathlete10 (3 months ago)
Dang I could've been playing the game with classic controls 😂
sodaJ3RK (3 months ago)
Really great game but if I have to hear boy one more damn time I'm going to lose my shit
Juliett A (3 months ago)
OH MAH GAWD, HOW DID I NOT REALIZE IT WAS TEAL'C <3
maxi soulcaliber (3 months ago)
So god of war 1 and 2 run at 60fps and they are on ps2. Then i look at god of war 4 on ps4 and it can't even maintain 30fps from looking at the gameplay.
snojbar1 (3 months ago)
ACG, I want to thank you! I was curious as to whether or not i would enjoy this. 3 was one of the best game i'd ever played.. and this looked like a real departure from the style. Upon seeing this review I bought it, just finished it.. fucking incredible. Love the video, love your content and your trusted reviews!
maxi soulcaliber (3 months ago)
30 fps? LOLOL Assassins creed origins still murders this game in looks. Rise of the tomb raider murders this game in graphics.
Andrew Johns (2 months ago)
The amount of visual detail kicks the shit out of both of them
Dank Meme Master (2 months ago)
You head must be in your ass to say such shit you xbot
TitanTCG - Cards (2 months ago)
But God Of War murders them in story...fuck off
Alexander Xiong (3 months ago)
Story 10 out of 10 No titties though (Unlike other GoW games). So 1 out of 10 for me, wanted to see Freya’s boobies.
Phoenix3573 (3 months ago)
WALKING THE WALK!
Mac Elliott (3 months ago)
Got this game 3 days ago and haven’t put it down since, very outstanding game from a visual and storytelling standpoint. Although there’s some things that make me think dlc will be coming
Admonisher80 (3 months ago)
Am I the only person who noticed that this game while good extremely good looks a lot like hell-blade
Azralynn (3 months ago)
Really loved this game <3
MarkXV (3 months ago)
God of War looks pretty but is rather boring, its Horizon Zero Yawn all over again. Expect no awards for this one either.
Kevin Jones (3 months ago)
There’s not enough content. That’s the only downfall, a single player game like this needs to offer a lot more than just a 20 hour campaign. That’s unacceptable.
CEEPMDEE (3 months ago)
RENT THIS PIECE OF SHIT!, Do NOT buy.
Sacred Geometry (3 months ago)
I would love to have sex with your voice
Jesus MLG (3 months ago)
The game looks and runs like crap on PS4 Slim. It's more optimized for PS4 PRO.
T Wik (3 months ago)
For $60 I could buy myself an axe and throw it around
TitanTCG - Cards (2 months ago)
Does it glow?
PSPrinny (3 months ago)
But would it boomerang back to you? :P
Bakr m (3 months ago)
I wish the release on Xbox one...
Ga Me (3 months ago)
I can't understand why major review outlets are giving it a 10/10... Does performance not matter at all anymore? 30fps in 2018 is not a masterpiece.... Not even the PS4 PRO can reach 1080P 60fps? That is a straight up joke. I don't care how perfect the "game" is. If i'm being told a game is a masterpiece, it better not run at 30FPS with no way to get any better performance. This is the same reason I think the ratings for Zelda are BS. The performance in that game was absolute trash. It's laughable that Sony has a more expensive PS4 out there called "PRO" and it still can't deliver a stadard 60fps on a 1080p screen. You can run virtually any game on a PC at 1080P with a GPU that costs 1/3rd of a PS4 PRO. I'd have bought a PRO if it actually delivered 60FPS as standard. But nope. It can checkerboard 4k and lock 30FPS at 1080p. Anwyays. Game is NOT a 10/10. Especially for those of you who want a smooth experience with your premium hardware. It's 2018 for God sakes. Everyone was complaining about the performance at PS4 and Xbone launch. And here were are more than 5 years later and STILL in the same performance boat.
W Radford (3 months ago)
I just finished it a few hours ago. I'd say it was a solid game with a billion dollars to spend on graphics alone that took most of the foundation from Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice and ideas (the talking head) from lollipop chainsaw and obviously The Last of Us. The story is far more the selling point for me than the gameplay. I found myself playing just to get more of the story (like I did with previous Gow games). There are a TON of plot-holes that I may have missed, like how did he come back after killing himself in 3? Was there repercussions from killing all those gods in the previous games? If so, what happened to his original realm?
Impaler.idk? (3 months ago)
Imagine Darksiders if it was done this way. The path has been paved 😂 this looks awesome cant wait to play it
Stephen Miller (3 months ago)
Incredible review. I personally don’t have a problem with the pacing, but that’s simply a matter of personal taste, and appropriately, you don’t place a lot of emphasis on that in your review. I have never seen such a thorough, unbiased review before. Already subscribed and can’t wait to hear more from you!
Iwo (3 months ago)
Hey man can you do Swords Of Ditto? And keep up the awesome work :)
David's2Cents (3 months ago)
cory said he wants kratos to travel. time travel is possible in this mythology so pay attention to every thing the head says . you will know what i am talking about when it happens
sparda9060 (3 months ago)
This is one of the few games that used lighting and bloom only when needed and not just set the entire fucking scene in a ray of light just to say " look here our game has HDR BLOOM!". I love how it balances out the colors with the environment without making either one too prominent over the other. I love the particle effects, it really gives you the feeling of impact for the combat. You can also feel how strongly Kratos is holding back his anger too and let loose in the Rage of the Sparta activation.
kingdomkey2011 (3 months ago)
I finished 95% of the game today.... I was skeptical of the changes they made with the gameplay but I ended up loving the new one. it's by far the best game I played since the witcher 3
T Wik (3 months ago)
Can you buy different outfits for Kratos?
Aryan Garg (3 months ago)
T Wik Kinda, armours and stuff which boosts stats.
Evel monkey Dean (3 months ago)
Been watching lets play on G O W it is a lot slower pace then the other ones but dose look great I miss his chains and the hit counter
Ronald Savoy (3 months ago)
Great review!
Solar Vortex (3 months ago)
Can you have fun playing this game without ever playing the other ones? This game looks really fun but I’ve haven’t played the other God of War games
Aryan Garg (3 months ago)
Solar Vortex Yes
Oscar LD (3 months ago)
Am i the only one who can’t see the diffrence in fov in games?
The_Future_2049 (3 months ago)
Great review ACG! :)
Karan (3 months ago)
This weak ass pansy ain't the kratos I grew with. No gore, no blood no sex, no rage. Just TLOU in GOW world.
Aryan Garg (3 months ago)
Karan You clearly have not played the game.
LiangHuBBB (3 months ago)
can anyone tell me how I attach or use magic / use health potions in GoW? Im getting magic spells or stuff like that, but I can't seem to find the option to use or attach them to a weapon
Jatt710 (3 months ago)
heard this game is 8 hours of cut scene true or not
RogueGhost OracleGamer (3 months ago)
Buy it now. Great game. Great story. Great graphics. Best game you will buy in first half of 2018.
Dan (3 months ago)
spoilers?? can I see it if there is spoilers?
Luka K. (3 months ago)
Kratos can't jump? fuck that...
ACG (3 months ago)
he can not
karl young (3 months ago)
love the god but it does feel like they ripped of tomb raider a little
ACG (3 months ago)
Which ripped of thousands of games before it lol. Thats sort of how it goes really.
Zeorymer300 (3 months ago)
No free jumping. TRASH.
TitanTCG - Cards (2 months ago)
r/quityourbullshit
ACG (3 months ago)
no

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.