HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: ACG

Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire Review "Buy, Wait for Sale, Rent, Never Touch?"

4729 ratings | 217605 views
Karak checks out Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire for PC. Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire is out out. Patreon https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire Review My Amazon Affiliate link. Buying anything with this link helps ACG http://amzn.to/2igWHDV https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming 👉 More PC Game Reviews https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL62tz83FJJjlEpRdOT63lruxsTA6m1t9s 👈 👉 More Console Game Reviews https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL62tz83FJJjlP-rz4qKNts3Kwf3iwhbpG 👈 Integrity Statement* Any game code supplied by PR/Dev is purchased again upon its release and given away to Patrons. No game is reviewed for free and no sponsorships for game reviews taken. My money is on the line just like everyone's. Patron - Merch 👉 https://teespring.com/stores/acg?page=1 👈 👉 https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming 👈 👉 paypal.me/ACGsponsor 👈 👉 http://store.steampowered.com/curator/6233509-Angry-Centaur-Gaming/ 👈 Social Stuff & Reddit 👉 Subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/ACGVids/ 👉 My Twitter: https://twitter.com/JeremyPenter 👉 Podcasts on Googleplay https://goo.gl/ad34zw 👉 My Itunes: https://goo.gl/SEj1bW I am not one of those bigger gaming website no 2 minute reviews here only details. Videogame reviews all the time. So if you are tired of short reviews, ones that don't discuss all the game, this is the right place. No big website 2 minute stuff here. Coverage includes ps4, xbox one, pc, xbox 360, Wii, Wiiu, Switch, and digital storefronts like Steam, as well as companies like Microsoft, Sony and Nintendo Buy, wait for a sale, rent, or never touch it. The Patented Karak review system to see if a game is worth a buy.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (598)
ACG (5 months ago)
Come on by the patreon if you get a chance. It helps me keep buying every game I review and giving them away to patrons so my money is on the line like yours. https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming
Roberto Rivera (25 days ago)
I will support you if you play as an orlan and talk about appreciating furries. :3
lingesh roger (2 months ago)
i really wan to get into this games but crpg thing stopping me!!!! or any auto combat like that!!!! pls advice me on this<
Abssii (4 months ago)
Mac Array join us on the discords! we have awesome talks about all kinds of games and things, great time
Mac Array (5 months ago)
This is still one of the best, if not the best, channel for game reviews. You have an insanely consistent channel here pumping out quality content. Absolutely love your work. Keep it up buddy.
Armand B. (2 days ago)
i strongly suggest install it on ssd
NoneOfYourBiz87 (2 days ago)
HALP! Divinity original sin 2 VS this game! GO! Pros vs cons!
FumeKing (3 days ago)
the graphics reminds me of dungeon hunter 5
Allen Albertson (5 days ago)
Best reviews ever. Don't always agree but you are top notch by far and the only person I watch for reviews.
Wade Cothran (9 days ago)
I watched a 1:30 spiral ham commercial for this.
Eduan van der Ness (12 days ago)
You’re the best reviewer by far! Will subscribe. Stay awesome.
ボイドv o i d (16 days ago)
this or tyranny?
cairos naobum (24 days ago)
One of the most meaningful subscribes of the past several years. AMAZING CONTENT ! Thank you so much !
Roberto Rivera (25 days ago)
I just bought 2 weeks ago. I am immersed in the first game so i cannot wait to get into the next one.
Campbell Gordon (26 days ago)
That line about Danny (The Dwarf) DiVito! ha ha haaa. Brilliant
TheLestat2008 (1 month ago)
Can’t wait to play this on my xbox one x. The first one it is amazing!!!!
Ordinary Human being (1 month ago)
Graphics are a big improvement Combat is good fun Character creation is decent enough Story is a bit poor the devs sort of just chuck you into the story and expect you to figure it all out by yourself. There’s really no structure in the story you can kinda just skip everything and go right to the end game missions.
imopman (1 month ago)
Excellent review , you backed up your points with examples and gave a detailed unbiased report . - Subscribed !
Peter Griffin (1 month ago)
shit game
DigitalTwins (1 month ago)
looks like path of exile sea edtion
redrusty66 (2 months ago)
ya know, I do enjoy your reviews and follow this channel, however, I have noticed your Hit and Run reviews are a bit unreliable now. You seem to "day1-week1" reviews and on even HUGE games you never touch them again. You are aware that many,if not most, games have problems the 1st week. With further patches , usually within weeks of release and GREAT many of the things you speak of no longer exist. You say "not sponsored bullcrap"....well, that is true, but your reviews become only about 30-40% reliable within 1 month of making it...as you NEVER return and address the post release patches or the CURRENT state of a game. I noticed this on Battletech and now This review as well. The patches since these 2 reviews were made (3 months ago), have noth of these games at a real different place than when you reviewed them. So yeah, your reviews are good, but are then worthless weeks later. Might wanna address that issue.
ACG (2 months ago)
No way. Its always going to be that and should. Your not talking about a review you are talking about a followup and I am just one person. No time machines here.
Enter Tain (2 months ago)
#LostArk
Andreas Edvinsson (2 months ago)
since you play rpg at all is for the story, or is it jsut me? in that case PoE2 is so much worse then the first game, side quest is more of a chore then anything elsem repetative and you get forced to sail all over the map to do a repeat of the quest before, no option to fast travel
JCTiggs (3 months ago)
Hard to believe that this game has so many performance issues considering the world is basically 2d art.
MonsterKat (1 month ago)
there is lots of 3d looking stuff in this
MuicIsForever31 (3 months ago)
Are you going to review divinity original sin 2
SweetLobster (3 months ago)
Ty for playing the game before giving a review unlike all others faggot
Ghastly Grinner (3 months ago)
Personality I'm picking up the game for the ship combat
Zac (3 months ago)
I ve just started to play it and it reminds me a lot Tides of Numenera.
Marko Ahonen (4 months ago)
thanks for the review and helping me decide if to buy
Section8dc (4 months ago)
Damn dune references, using think I like you even more karak lol. I also have got to appreciate your knowledge of music cuz it is amazing, you are the only one who goes in depth about the music.
Παρακαλώ, ΒΟΗΘΕΙΑ!!! Προσπαθώ να παίξω το παιχνίδι και εμφανίζεται ένα παραθυράκι και λέει: ''H έκδοση αυτού του αρχείου δεν είναι συμβατή με την έκδοση των Windows που διαθέτετε. Ελέγξτε τις πληροφορίες του συστήματος του υπολογιστή σας για να δείτε αν χρειάζεστε την έκδοση x86 (32-bit) ή την x64 (64-bit) του προγράμματος και, στην συνέχεια, επικοινωνήστε με τον εκδότη του λογισμικού''. Τι κάνω ?!
Armonis (4 months ago)
I enjoy the story, but I feel like the World Building they established with the different factions and other facets was really great.
fsodfo goskfok (4 months ago)
looks good
Phil Michael (4 months ago)
If 980 is mid range, i don't even have a computer. FML :(
Tubular (4 months ago)
Great review as always man. Thanks for always putting in the time and effort for these
Yuma Mierzwa (4 months ago)
Love ur reviews, cant agree with you on the story of this game though. Loved it, personally. .
Richard Lawson (4 months ago)
PoE2 vs DOS2, pros and cons?
Tobbit (1 month ago)
PoE2: + Very open-world exploration + Game Mode Challenges + Eye candy environment + New content every month + Mods - Game-breaking final quest - Minor interface bugs - Boring companion quest - Boring story quest - Loading Screens DOS2: + Turn-based made fun + Long and interesting companion quests + Co-op, Multiplayer, Split-Screen + Game Master mode and Arena Mode + Mods - No faction
vasdklwje (4 months ago)
How does this game compare to DOS2?
Kenny T (4 months ago)
Hey, ACG, I was wondering if you could try and talk just a bit slower in the future? I have to pause the video at times and listen to it several times because my translating lags behind with what you're saying. I like your reviews, and you tend to go straight to the heart of the matter. (Although there are times where I disagree with you with certain points sometimes.) Is there a reason you tend to talk so fast? Maybe you want to get it over with, if you don't like the game you're reviewing, but even so, isn't the reviewer supposed to be... What's the word? Neutral? When reviewing a game? In any case, good review all the same! Thanks! edit: specifically, I'm referring to roughly 2:40 (give or take a few seconds) where you talk really fast. For me at least. You tend to talk fast and the normally, so maybe if it's pointed out, you could keep that in mind for the future?
eLlipszilon Q (4 months ago)
It's so beautiful I want to cry???
Free Flow (4 months ago)
Divinity 2 is by far a superior game
Slamm Dunk (4 months ago)
not a bad game, but as i was playing it i knew something wasn't quite right.... then i realised "Oh, the game i was supposed to get was "Divinity original sin 2" i got mixed up and got the wrong game 😐🔫
Robin Johansson (4 months ago)
I have heard that one complaint on the first one was the loading times. Have they improved this time around?
Keith Everson (4 months ago)
I didn't realize this was an Obsidian title. Knowing that, it's now been moved down my list on the assumption that it will ship with game breaking bugs that'll take about 6 months to patch. I'll wait for it to mature a bit.
kwastormayt (4 months ago)
such games were 3D 20 years ago.. characters moving on picture is not that entertaining can you please ask them how they did it 3D 20 years ago? and make that game 3D.. the game would look and feel much real I'm sorry but I had to say that :(
rikard (4 months ago)
I take your reviews over gamespot or ign anytime man! keep up the goodwork. god bless you
ACG (4 months ago)
thanks
Q anon (4 months ago)
Enjoyed this much more then Divinity 2
Hlafordlaes (4 months ago)
Hated, absolutely loathed Pillars I, and only played it not to sadden the nice person who gave it to me for Christmas. Looks even suckier now, and just as crappy to play, like a skipping record with OCD. Just to take one example, the 2015-vintage "The Witcher 3" is generations beyond this game, and is amenable to extensive modding. This? Waste of time and money.
John (4 months ago)
fucking buy it
Honor Lando (4 months ago)
waiting poe 2 ee
shadow0106 (4 months ago)
I've beaten the game today, and i think it's a very good game, but i liked the first game better, it had a better overall main story, and some of the places of the first game impacted me more, the execution is better in this one though, in terms of graphics, effects and all.
Charlie Chuckleberry (4 months ago)
I actually loved the ship vs ship battles. It's an optional thing thou, you could easily skip it.
ReadyAimFire (4 months ago)
Im a big fan of team based rpgs, but this game was a disappoinment for me. I just hate pirate theme. Story and characters were not so good. And sea fights were terrible. Not to mention its just way too easy. Tyranny was much better imo.
ZodeakUrganomix (4 months ago)
Already pumped 60 hours into the game and I've gotta say I'm baffled by how you have reservations about the voice-acting and story. I really enjoy both! VOs and writing seem top quality to me. Well made review as ever though
FERGERDERGERSON (4 months ago)
You're the best reviewer. Thank you for the awesome videos!
Mario López (4 months ago)
Este juego solo va de Dialogos
icy veil (4 months ago)
Hi. Anyone know when is this game coming out on the Switch?
Martin Kauber (4 months ago)
is it still Unity Engine?
Torbax (4 months ago)
Games like this just bore me so much... First you sit through almost 15 minutes of story building and dialog options, then you have to spend god knows how long to read all the different abilities each race/class has and after all that you're still not playing the game because it wants you to wander around collecting random shit like you're some kind of hoarder because if you don't you can't make a sword or whatever... urgh where are the good old days of games like Fallout or Bioshock -.- where you're just dumped into the story and you need to figure it all out yourself.
MonsterKat (1 month ago)
why even watch the review or comment then? go play something with instant fun
m3divh (4 months ago)
THere are literaly the Principi which quests if you do you become a pirate -____-
ACG (4 months ago)
literaly
Planetar (4 months ago)
This game is beautiful! Not only eye candy or honey for ear but deep food for brain! Oh its so damn well done. The mechanics of combat, multitudes of different features and all the stuff around is so well done. Everything is perfected! Complex, deep and yet simple! It is indeed the real modern times heir of Baldurs Gate & Icewind Dale legacy. Must have not only for crpg team-adventurers dungeon crawler fantasy fans. Its going to be a legend.
Krzych66665 (4 months ago)
I just completed Pillars 2 and I agree with most of the points. Exploration was spot on, I hate going through large cities just to end up going district to district to do some quests, but here it was done better than in the first game. Gamplay was great and most of the characters and choices were pretty nice. Story was meh... for me and game lacked epic encounters as you see them in the first game and Baldurs'. I would you that if you like traditional RPGs, go buy it. I was convinced at the start of the game that I would go though it once again once I am done, now after playing it for 5 days straight, I am not so sure about it. Nevertheless great game.
Brad West (4 months ago)
Good comment. Actually helped in my decision to go ahead and buy it instead of waiting fora sale down the road. Gonna fire it up in the morning and see how much I can play this holiday weekend. I really enjoyed the first one but by the end (especially the white march) I was just exhausted by trying to care about the story. Hoping the enhancements for this one allows me to better overlook any story issues.
Christopher Panossian (4 months ago)
I love this game. I have put in over 40 hours since it launched. The one thing that is a huge negative compared to the first is you are limited to 5 party members. Give me back my full party!
Marco Longo (4 months ago)
You gained my total trust review after review. You're my main reference for games, alongside Red Letter Media for movies.
Mititelu Radu (4 months ago)
since when 1080 is high end in terms of performance? 1080 TI barely handles 1080p, so easy on Nvidia ass kissing there. (I am gaming on a 1080, and I know exactly what that card can or can't do, and it is not that impressive)
Kaze Vongola (5 months ago)
Can you romance cuties like in Baldur's Gate 2? And I mean cuties not troglodykes like in Dragon Age Inquisition.
Owellow (5 months ago)
Wow. Comprehensive! I'm not even going to play games anymore, I'll just watch your videos! Thanks dude you're gonna save me boatloads!
Brett Schall (5 months ago)
Do you make these videos to actually write reviews or do you just use them as a vehicle for your forced, poorly written and pointless metaphors?
ACG (5 months ago)
No its all a trap to watch folks like you get triggered. Then we laugh as we create memes of your avatars and then smile in glory as we sit on our thrones made of printouts of stupid comments.
Alistar D (5 months ago)
more like Pillars of Eternity II: Tiny Maps and Loading Screens
Deveroth (5 months ago)
i fucking hate that this guy starts with graphics and sound, as if that’s the most important thing. fucking infuriating, and i drop a dislike on any video i can, knowing i’ll have to skip the first 7 minutes to get the part that matters
ACG (4 months ago)
no engagements great
Deveroth (4 months ago)
ACG you gonna do anything about it?
ACG (5 months ago)
good thats considered engagement. Thanks for helping
Darwinion (5 months ago)
I see a kitty.... and I like kitties.
Raven24 (5 months ago)
in my opinion Pillars of Eternity 2 Deadfire is a pretty good game with Engaging Story, a much better combat than from the first game and the writing is pretty good to.
SinisterSD (5 months ago)
There's just so much exploration it's hard to even keep track of what your main goal is. I'm just going from island to island, going through my journal trying to complete as much as possible. So I agree that the story isn't the greatest, but still a fantastic game.
yanuar mustika (5 months ago)
Great review. Really need to play pillars 1 before this. Still busy with battletech and huge backlog tough.
Mik Mak (5 months ago)
Ill wait for the switch as i grow older i get tired sitting staring at a computer i need to play this while being able to lie down comfortably
Aleck Webb (5 months ago)
Fabtastic review as always, so much detail. Loved the first pillars, may pick this one up!
J.Santiago (5 months ago)
how are the load times? are they improved compared to the first one?.
Eldritch Dwarf (5 months ago)
Will you do a review of Frostpunk?
FLGSC (5 months ago)
is this mount and blade: sea-crew?
Krakken7Down (5 months ago)
ACG, You truly are the King and Lord of Reviews. Always entertaining and incredibly helpful. So excited to get my hands on this game finally. Looks like a lot of fun. Huge fan of the original.
aozgolo (5 months ago)
Great review. I backed both PoE1 and PoE2 so I have both games yet never managed to finish the first game. I guess I just never felt rushed to do so, but I think it would be good for me to go back and play through all of that game first and continue on into Deadfire, it sounds like giving Obsidian a little time to iron out some issues, as well as for maybe 1 or 2 of the planned expansions/dlcs to come out (whatever they are) would be good.
Event Horizon (5 months ago)
"One of the best stories they've ever played in a game" sounds to me like they haven't played many story-focused games at all.
MichiganJack (5 months ago)
I’m still trying to get started with the first game. I’ve been procrastinating for so long. I love CRPGs, But it seems these days I tend to buy them and often end up not putting in the time to play them. Divinity OS 1&2 are also still waiting for some attention, not forget Torment Tides...ugh I’m ashamed. Great content thanks.
Infamous Media (5 months ago)
never played this kind of game want to get into it, but it seesm 80% of the game is played in the pause menu
Ray Macz (5 months ago)
I like the POE: Deadfire graphics as compared to any CRPGs out there & all its predecessors. Great job Obsidian!
Vojin Milojkovic (5 months ago)
Fear is the mind killer <3
Blottingpaper (5 months ago)
POE 1 was abit janky, it's good to see that's improved a bit. Shame that voice and story suffered.
Alejandro Sosa (5 months ago)
Caribbean Islands?
Alejandro Sosa (5 months ago)
Divinity II vs Pillars II Who wins? Diablo II vs. Torchlight II Who wins?
Alejandro Sosa (5 months ago)
Diablo II > divinity 2 > Torchlight 2 > Pillars 2
Rump Buffalo (5 months ago)
Obsidian has the problems.
wille514 (5 months ago)
Those footsteps sfx will drive me insane
Tropical Jupiter (5 months ago)
Accents changing is "JARRING to say the least"
soulbrother97 (5 months ago)
You review this but you skip reviewing Divinity: Original Sin 2. Smh 😒
ACG (5 months ago)
I can't lie and pretend to review divinity. That would be weird. smh
xdmx (5 months ago)
For me what makes or breaks games like this are the combat mechanics and character/party building, which wasn't discussed a whole lot. I can put up with meh writing if I really enjoy creating new characters and fighting things.
Sung Min Tamayo (5 months ago)
Kind of surprising that you didn't like the voice acting as much. I totally can see what you are saying about the inconsistencies, however I felt that for me the companions and main characters really sold me well for the VO. I suppose its a quantity vs quality thing. For me, having every dialogue line voice acted was totally worth it even if it wasn't all perfect.
Brennan (4 months ago)
It blew my mind that Matt Mercer was both Aloth and Eder. Insane range on that lad.
Sung Min Tamayo (5 months ago)
Fair enough :D Thanks for the review! 1 more thing: Did you feel like the story served a sort of Witcher 3 esque skeletal structure to help you navigate the world?
ACG (5 months ago)
well I don't find it surprising that you didn't mind the voice acting.
Matthew Charles (5 months ago)
I appreciate in your reviews stating when something is a fact of the game or a personal opinion. Not a lot of professionals can understand something is good even if they don't like it. (Your examples about the story and others opinions of it.) I feel this is a good skill as a reviewer. Thank you and keep up the awesome work dude.
Canon Wright (5 months ago)
You gotta review Praey for the Gods, when it comes out.
Josh T (5 months ago)
More of a multiplayer person myself. I haven't been single for years. Though the game looks great, I think I'll ride my low-brow obsession with Pit People just a little longer.
Funk Enstein (5 months ago)
So nice of them to make the game unavailable to people with older Macs. It's really Apple that's the asshole, but does this game really need High Sierra to run? It doesn't look that much different from the original graphically. The fix is in.
Cloud Strife (5 months ago)
For someone who is not a fan of mobos/mmo, while I like this game if I just like rpgs?
Archnid 001 (5 months ago)
you can become a hero or kill everyone in this game and become a villain then join the enemy side then you gain negative reputation in every function and some god will against you and trying to kill you by assassination.
conan263 (5 months ago)
CAN I MAKE MY CHARACTER FAT, BALD AND HAVE A BIG DICK?
Persephone Morgan (5 months ago)
Dune reference! instant like. <3
Trek The happy turtle (5 months ago)
Obsidion dropped fallout new orleans for this?? Really :/??

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.