HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: ACG

Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire Review "Buy, Wait for Sale, Rent, Never Touch?"

3967 ratings | 140088 views
Karak checks out Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire for PC. Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire is out out. Patreon https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire Review My Amazon Affiliate link. Buying anything with this link helps ACG http://amzn.to/2igWHDV https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming 👉 More PC Game Reviews https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL62tz83FJJjlEpRdOT63lruxsTA6m1t9s 👈 👉 More Console Game Reviews https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL62tz83FJJjlP-rz4qKNts3Kwf3iwhbpG 👈 Integrity Statement* Any game code supplied by PR/Dev is purchased again upon its release and given away to Patrons. No game is reviewed for free and no sponsorships for game reviews taken. My money is on the line just like everyone's. Patron - Merch 👉 https://teespring.com/stores/acg?page=1 👈 👉 https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming 👈 👉 paypal.me/ACGsponsor 👈 👉 http://store.steampowered.com/curator/6233509-Angry-Centaur-Gaming/ 👈 Social Stuff & Reddit 👉 Subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/ACGVids/ 👉 My Twitter: https://twitter.com/JeremyPenter 👉 Podcasts on Googleplay https://goo.gl/ad34zw 👉 My Itunes: https://goo.gl/SEj1bW I am not one of those bigger gaming website no 2 minute reviews here only details. Videogame reviews all the time. So if you are tired of short reviews, ones that don't discuss all the game, this is the right place. No big website 2 minute stuff here. Coverage includes ps4, xbox one, pc, xbox 360, Wii, Wiiu, Switch, and digital storefronts like Steam, as well as companies like Microsoft, Sony and Nintendo Buy, wait for a sale, rent, or never touch it. The Patented Karak review system to see if a game is worth a buy.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (527)
ACG (15 days ago)
Come on by the patreon if you get a chance. It helps me keep buying every game I review and giving them away to patrons so my money is on the line like yours. https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming
Abssii (8 days ago)
Mac Array join us on the discords! we have awesome talks about all kinds of games and things, great time
Mac Array (14 days ago)
This is still one of the best, if not the best, channel for game reviews. You have an insanely consistent channel here pumping out quality content. Absolutely love your work. Keep it up buddy.
rikard (6 hours ago)
I take your reviews over gamespot or ign anytime man! keep up the goodwork. god bless you
ACG (6 hours ago)
thanks
john and Dyene alessio (8 hours ago)
Enjoyed this much more then Divinity 2
Hlafordlaes (21 hours ago)
Hated, absolutely loathed Pillars I, and only played it not to sadden the nice person who gave it to me for Christmas. Looks even suckier now, and just as crappy to play, like a skipping record with OCD. Just to take one example, the 2015-vintage "The Witcher 3" is generations beyond this game, and is amenable to extensive modding. This? Waste of time and money.
John (22 hours ago)
fucking buy it
Honor Lando (1 day ago)
waiting poe 2 ee
shadow0106 (1 day ago)
I've beaten the game today, and i think it's a very good game, but i liked the first game better, it had a better overall main story, and some of the places of the first game impacted me more, the execution is better in this one though, in terms of graphics, effects and all.
I actually loved the ship vs ship battles. It's an optional thing thou, you could easily skip it.
ReadyAimFire (2 days ago)
Im a big fan of team based rpgs, but this game was a disappoinment for me. I just hate pirate theme. Story and characters were not so good. And sea fights were terrible. Not to mention its just way too easy. Tyranny was much better imo.
ZodeakUrganomix (5 days ago)
Already pumped 60 hours into the game and I've gotta say I'm baffled by how you have reservations about the voice-acting and story. I really enjoy both! VOs and writing seem top quality to me. Well made review as ever though
FERGERDERGERSON (5 days ago)
You're the best reviewer. Thank you for the awesome videos!
Mario López (5 days ago)
Este juego solo va de Dialogos
Icer Zerocool (5 days ago)
Hi. Anyone know when is this game coming out on the Switch?
Martin Kauber (5 days ago)
is it still Unity Engine?
read a book (6 days ago)
yo is there any spoilers in this?
Torbax (7 days ago)
Games like this just bore me so much... First you sit through almost 15 minutes of story building and dialog options, then you have to spend god knows how long to read all the different abilities each race/class has and after all that you're still not playing the game because it wants you to wander around collecting random shit like you're some kind of hoarder because if you don't you can't make a sword or whatever... urgh where are the good old days of games like Fallout or Bioshock -.- where you're just dumped into the story and you need to figure it all out yourself.
m3divh (7 days ago)
THere are literaly the Principi which quests if you do you become a pirate -____-
ACG (7 days ago)
literaly
Planetar (7 days ago)
This game is beautiful! Not only eye candy or honey for ear but deep food for brain! Oh its so damn well done. The mechanics of combat, multitudes of different features and all the stuff around is so well done. Everything is perfected! Complex, deep and yet simple! It is indeed the real modern times heir of Baldurs Gate & Icewind Dale legacy. Must have not only for crpg team-adventurers dungeon crawler fantasy fans. Its going to be a legend.
EVIL EXTRA (8 days ago)
not bad but i prefer divinity
Krzych66665 (8 days ago)
I just completed Pillars 2 and I agree with most of the points. Exploration was spot on, I hate going through large cities just to end up going district to district to do some quests, but here it was done better than in the first game. Gamplay was great and most of the characters and choices were pretty nice. Story was meh... for me and game lacked epic encounters as you see them in the first game and Baldurs'. I would you that if you like traditional RPGs, go buy it. I was convinced at the start of the game that I would go though it once again once I am done, now after playing it for 5 days straight, I am not so sure about it. Nevertheless great game.
Christopher Panossian (8 days ago)
I love this game. I have put in over 40 hours since it launched. The one thing that is a huge negative compared to the first is you are limited to 5 party members. Give me back my full party!
Marco Longo (8 days ago)
You gained my total trust review after review. You're my main reference for games, alongside Red Letter Media for movies.
Mititelu Radu (9 days ago)
since when 1080 is high end in terms of performance? 1080 TI barely handles 1080p, so easy on Nvidia ass kissing there. (I am gaming on a 1080, and I know exactly what that card can or can't do, and it is not that impressive)
Kaze Vongola (9 days ago)
Can you romance cuties like in Baldur's Gate 2? And I mean cuties not troglodykes like in Dragon Age Inquisition.
Owellow (9 days ago)
Wow. Comprehensive! I'm not even going to play games anymore, I'll just watch your videos! Thanks dude you're gonna save me boatloads!
Brett Schall (10 days ago)
Do you make these videos to actually write reviews or do you just use them as a vehicle for your forced, poorly written and pointless metaphors?
ACG (9 days ago)
No its all a trap to watch folks like you get triggered. Then we laugh as we create memes of your avatars and then smile in glory as we sit on our thrones made of printouts of stupid comments.
Alistar D (10 days ago)
more like Pillars of Eternity II: Tiny Maps and Loading Screens
Deveroth (10 days ago)
i fucking hate that this guy starts with graphics and sound, as if that’s the most important thing. fucking infuriating, and i drop a dislike on any video i can, knowing i’ll have to skip the first 7 minutes to get the part that matters
ACG (9 days ago)
no engagements great
Deveroth (9 days ago)
ACG you gonna do anything about it?
ACG (9 days ago)
good thats considered engagement. Thanks for helping
Darwinion (10 days ago)
I see a kitty.... and I like kitties.
Theri4444 (11 days ago)
in my opinion Pillars of Eternity 2 Deadfire is a pretty good game with Engaging Story, a much better combat than from the first game and the writing is pretty good to.
SinisterSD (11 days ago)
There's just so much exploration it's hard to even keep track of what your main goal is. I'm just going from island to island, going through my journal trying to complete as much as possible. So I agree that the story isn't the greatest, but still a fantastic game.
yanuar mustika (11 days ago)
Great review. Really need to play pillars 1 before this. Still busy with battletech and huge backlog tough.
Mik Mak (11 days ago)
Ill wait for the switch as i grow older i get tired sitting staring at a computer i need to play this while being able to lie down comfortably
Aleck Webb (11 days ago)
Fabtastic review as always, so much detail. Loved the first pillars, may pick this one up!
J.Santiago (11 days ago)
how are the load times? are they improved compared to the first one?.
Eldritch Dwarf (11 days ago)
Will you do a review of Frostpunk?
FLGSC (11 days ago)
is this mount and blade: sea-crew?
Krakken7Down (12 days ago)
ACG, You truly are the King and Lord of Reviews. Always entertaining and incredibly helpful. So excited to get my hands on this game finally. Looks like a lot of fun. Huge fan of the original.
aozgolo (12 days ago)
Great review. I backed both PoE1 and PoE2 so I have both games yet never managed to finish the first game. I guess I just never felt rushed to do so, but I think it would be good for me to go back and play through all of that game first and continue on into Deadfire, it sounds like giving Obsidian a little time to iron out some issues, as well as for maybe 1 or 2 of the planned expansions/dlcs to come out (whatever they are) would be good.
Event Horizon (12 days ago)
"One of the best stories they've ever played in a game" sounds to me like they haven't played many story-focused games at all.
MichiganJack (12 days ago)
I’m still trying to get started with the first game. I’ve been procrastinating for so long. I love CRPGs, But it seems these days I tend to buy them and often end up not putting in the time to play them. Divinity OS 1&2 are also still waiting for some attention, not forget Torment Tides...ugh I’m ashamed. Great content thanks.
Infamous Media (12 days ago)
never played this kind of game want to get into it, but it seesm 80% of the game is played in the pause menu
Ray Macz (12 days ago)
I like the POE: Deadfire graphics as compared to any CRPGs out there & all its predecessors. Great job Obsidian!
Vojin Milojkovic (12 days ago)
Fear is the mind killer <3
Blottingpaper (12 days ago)
POE 1 was abit janky, it's good to see that's improved a bit. Shame that voice and story suffered.
Alejandro Sosa (12 days ago)
Caribbean Islands?
Alejandro Sosa (12 days ago)
Divinity II vs Pillars II Who wins? Diablo II vs. Torchlight II Who wins?
Alejandro Sosa (12 days ago)
Diablo II > divinity 2 > Torchlight 2 > Pillars 2
Rump Buffalo (12 days ago)
Obsidian has the problems.
wille514 (12 days ago)
Those footsteps sfx will drive me insane
Tropical Jupiter (12 days ago)
Accents changing is "JARRING to say the least"
soulbrother97 (12 days ago)
You review this but you skip reviewing Divinity: Original Sin 2. Smh 😒
ACG (12 days ago)
I can't lie and pretend to review divinity. That would be weird. smh
xdmx (13 days ago)
For me what makes or breaks games like this are the combat mechanics and character/party building, which wasn't discussed a whole lot. I can put up with meh writing if I really enjoy creating new characters and fighting things.
Sung Min Tamayo (13 days ago)
Kind of surprising that you didn't like the voice acting as much. I totally can see what you are saying about the inconsistencies, however I felt that for me the companions and main characters really sold me well for the VO. I suppose its a quantity vs quality thing. For me, having every dialogue line voice acted was totally worth it even if it wasn't all perfect.
Brennan (7 days ago)
It blew my mind that Matt Mercer was both Aloth and Eder. Insane range on that lad.
Sung Min Tamayo (11 days ago)
Fair enough :D Thanks for the review! 1 more thing: Did you feel like the story served a sort of Witcher 3 esque skeletal structure to help you navigate the world?
ACG (12 days ago)
well I don't find it surprising that you didn't mind the voice acting.
Matthew Charles (13 days ago)
I appreciate in your reviews stating when something is a fact of the game or a personal opinion. Not a lot of professionals can understand something is good even if they don't like it. (Your examples about the story and others opinions of it.) I feel this is a good skill as a reviewer. Thank you and keep up the awesome work dude.
Canon Wright (13 days ago)
You gotta review Praey for the Gods, when it comes out.
Josh T (13 days ago)
More of a multiplayer person myself. I haven't been single for years. Though the game looks great, I think I'll ride my low-brow obsession with Pit People just a little longer.
Funk Enstein (13 days ago)
So nice of them to make the game unavailable to people with older Macs. It's really Apple that's the asshole, but does this game really need High Sierra to run? It doesn't look that much different from the original graphically. The fix is in.
Cloud Strife (13 days ago)
For someone who is not a fan of mobos/mmo, while I like this game if I just like rpgs?
Archnid 001 (13 days ago)
you can become a hero or kill everyone in this game and become a villain then join the enemy side then you gain negative reputation in every function and some god will against you and trying to kill you by assassination.
conan263 (13 days ago)
CAN I MAKE MY CHARACTER FAT, BALD AND HAVE A BIG DICK?
Persephone Morgan (13 days ago)
Dune reference! instant like. <3
Trek The happy turtle (13 days ago)
Obsidion dropped fallout new orleans for this?? Really :/??
Futonrevolution (13 days ago)
Why do you speak quicker than Yahtzee? There isn't any breathing room for your jokes to land. EDIT: To clarify, I found you through the Battletech review, which had a near-perfect cadence tp it. This one feels like it was edited to be faster and I think that's an odd choice. I couldn't make it all the way through this one without getting a headache.
Futonrevolution (13 days ago)
Sorry if that came across as dramatic. It's just a suggestion and, like I said, it might be just this one video.
ACG (13 days ago)
not sure I just talk. You should probably check out skillup. Good reviewing and might be slower for you. Its just a game review so no reason to stick around if your in actual physical pain like this
Helgi Jacobsen (13 days ago)
after two days of play time i am done with this game reason is is the sailing with that ship it's hilarious filling it with water food and losing moral then other ship robbing you its waste of time
Maliken (13 days ago)
The future of Pillars of Eternity and my dream: 1. More attack animations with each weapon type 2. Parry and Block animations . . . 3. Sliiiightly enhanced graphics via doodads & texturing. Kind of like what we've seen in world of warcraft over its 13 year history. Its subtle but over years, noticeable. I basically want gameplay improvements, and the company to understand that sometimes less is more. The Chanter class takes away from other classes ZzzZZ. The game would be better without this class. Glad Deadfire was made and cant wait to play it.
sorcdk (4 days ago)
I am curious, what exactly is it that you find the chanter class gives problems with. I would really like to hear how you think the game could become better by removing specific things.
Cory Vachon (13 days ago)
Watching this makes me want to play Dragon Age.
Raul Never (13 days ago)
Conan exiles review please I need you to review before I make a decision!
ACG (13 days ago)
its not even a full game. I dislike it a great deal
poika22 (13 days ago)
I backed this game on Fig but I won't play it until all the DLC comes out. I don't typically buy season passes, but Obsidian has more than proven themselves in the past.
Dungeon_Duck (13 days ago)
Loved the first PoE to death, playing the second one now, seems good, I'm mixed on the ship thing, but all in all it's a great game. P.S. Love your reviews, keep em comming! ^^
Legendary Milk (13 days ago)
D&D like i want it o.o
Peter Markstone (14 days ago)
IGN can learn from you how to do review
Paul H (14 days ago)
The reference to It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia where Frank Reynolds (Danny Devito) was sewn into a couch was golden!
WeCoolWeCool BOUNCE (14 days ago)
If you like the video (makes strange noise) maybe like the video...
ACG (14 days ago)
If you haven't heard vocal cues eh make a comment
Sm0lkin (14 days ago)
The way you say paladin was unexpected=) Thanks for great work, as always=)!
Joe Arnold (14 days ago)
Oh I never finished the 1st! I loved it but got distracted. I want to go back... but I have so little time and so many games I’ve wanted to play
123456gordon (14 days ago)
Hey, I remember reading one guy who said Mass Effect Andromeda had the best story, so I got you in the subjective sense. I'm currently playing the first one and the gameplay appeals more to me than the story, so maybe I'll like Deadfire more.
King Plunger (14 days ago)
higher diff? I am scared of path of the damned :/
Kalas82 (14 days ago)
this is Hands-down the best crpg ever created....especily playing both games in succesion is just amazing. and this is coming from an oldschool Baldurs Gate 1/2/Throne of Baal fan.
Zeddicus1976 (13 days ago)
Indeed. It's the best crpg I have ever played............today.
Ackwell (13 days ago)
There are some places where characters change accent to be sarcastinc or make fun of someone... Also Aloth changes accent totally at the middle of discussion because he is awakened and he has his soul's pretty annoying earlier incarnation, Iselmyr living inside of him. Remember that froim PoE1? :)
LegacYakaMK (14 days ago)
I've been watching alot of dune lately
Bogdan 96 (14 days ago)
pirate it and the problem is solved!
Aaron Smith (14 days ago)
The effing reference to "It's Always Sunny".... Dude. I lost my shit on that!
Jamie Karl (14 days ago)
The graphics IMO, and the soundtracking show where these types of games should be heading (ie intergration of 3d graphics, particularly motion and lighting). It's truely next gen. Lots of times of just stopped to admire it. I like the new ship mechanics, and they have done some other things with the mechanics that are new (a lot of focus on meaningful choices in the game, which is great). The game is immensely engaging in terms of atmosphere and exploration. I've not really got far enough to comment on the story (I'm taking my sweet time), but so far it seems compelling. I like the characters. I felt like you that the voice acting and narration is great, but sometimes the accent slips. But for a game that is 100% voice acted, I feel like thats sort of inevitable. I enjoyed the first game, but it felt a bit bland compared to the imagination of tyranny or tides, both of which were awesome. Here it feels like they have elements of those (hyper focus on choices), (animations), and some worldbuilding detail and colour that was lacking in the first game. I'm honestly still at the point of being amazed by all the new energy in this game.
ACG (14 days ago)
agreed
I love Dorfs and Droods!
Mitchell Johnson (14 days ago)
First time here. Had me subscribe within the first minute for your particular proclivity for poly phonics.
G. (14 days ago)
If anyone wants to gift PoE 1 to a poor college student on Steam... I'd rather start from the beginning specially considering PoE 2 is a direct sequel
Archie Deluxe (14 days ago)
Never played a CRPG before but are they easy to get into? This game looks really interesting :)
Classics Major (14 days ago)
Rent? It's a fucking PC game....Did you come up with this rating system in the 90's?
Yuup Yupup (14 days ago)
OK, few observations.. Music is beautiful, you were completely right.. But that narrator voice.. That bitch is so bad!!! Which is really a big problem because other voices are good and I can't tune her down :(
ACG (14 days ago)
lol true
Sakis Mum-Ra (15 days ago)
They make good games, but all these chats, all these bla bla, i get so bored even to klik them, only if you are a teen have so much patient to read all that
Secret Passion (15 days ago)
Maybe if the first one was good i might have bought this
Mike Donoghue (15 days ago)
I'll wait for switch
vin 950 (15 days ago)
I wish more reviews used the format you do. Its irritating listening to an entire review where someone tries their best to be amusing and comes off as infuriatingly vague. Too many reviews focus on things that are almost entirely subjective without providing enough reasons to back up their claims. I bought the game already, but I have not played past the 2 hour return time limit, and was waiting to see your review before deciding. I am a bit irritated with the narrator's voice. Its not that they used a female voice. The problem here is that the narration sounds awful. She enunciates the wrong words, and puts emotion into lines that she should not have. Its pretty amazing that they did such a piss poor job with one of the most important voice in the game. In the first game they had a perfect person to voice it, and I have no idea why they changed it. I was hoping for some option to turn it off or switch to a male voice, but no such luck. I am stuck listening to her ear grating, immersion destroying voice each time the game wants to tell me anything. I know its too much to ask them to re-voice it with a male voice, but I hope they at least add an option to silence the narration alone.
ACG (14 days ago)
I hear ya
Atrahasis7 (15 days ago)
Cant wait to throw pallegina offboard.
Atrahasis7 (14 days ago)
Honestly playing Icewind Dale enhanced just reminded me writers were simply better and more attuned to the classics than in the modern day.
ACG (14 days ago)
TOSS!
Robin Tirkey (15 days ago)
Did you talk about save game transfer from 1st game, or have i missed it...??
Scott Smith (15 days ago)
Do I need to play the first game beforehand?
ACG (14 days ago)
no
RJ Salonga (15 days ago)
ACG will i enjoy the this one if i have not finished the first game?
Tiago Silva (15 days ago)
Low resolution = PS3 like Damn, son, I'm getting old.
Hannibal0098 (15 days ago)
OMG, I'm not even halfway through Divinity, now this game comes out....
AllYourBase (15 days ago)
I dont expect epic voice acting. A lot of the dialog will be for convenience since these games often leave you to read everything.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.