HomeВидеоигрыRelated VideosMore From: ACG

Reviews - How are They Done, Why Score The Way I Do, And More

756 ratings | 8223 views
Reviews - How are They Done, Why Score The Way I Do, And More. My Amazon Affiliate link. Buying anything with this link helps ACG http://amzn.to/2igWHDV https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming 👉 More PC Game Reviews https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL62tz83FJJjlEpRdOT63lruxsTA6m1t9s 👈 👉 More Console Game Reviews https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL62tz83FJJjlP-rz4qKNts3Kwf3iwhbpG 👈 Integrity Statement* Any game code supplied by PR/Dev is purchased again upon its release and given away to Patrons. No game is reviewed for free and no sponsorships for game reviews taken. My money is on the line just like everyone's. Patron - Merch 👉 https://teespring.com/stores/acg?page=1 👈 👉 https://www.patreon.com/AngryCentaurGaming 👈 👉 paypal.me/ACGsponsor 👈 👉 http://store.steampowered.com/curator/6233509-Angry-Centaur-Gaming/ 👈 Social Stuff & Reddit 👉 Subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/ACGVids/ 👉 My Twitter: https://twitter.com/JeremyPenter 👉 Podcasts on Googleplay https://goo.gl/ad34zw 👉 My Itunes: https://goo.gl/SEj1bW I am not one of those bigger gaming website no 2 minute reviews here only details. Videogame reviews all the time. So if you are tired of short reviews, ones that don't discuss all the game, this is the right place. No big website 2 minute stuff here. Coverage includes ps4, xbox one, pc, xbox 360, Wii, Wiiu, Switch, and digital storefronts like Steam, as well as companies like Microsoft, Sony and Nintendo Buy, wait for a sale, rent, or never touch it. The Patented Karak review system to see if a game is worth a buy.
Category: Видеоигры
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (170)
Cameron Rogers (1 month ago)
Could you please review Firewall Zero Hour?
Emmanuel-John Turner (4 months ago)
I never understood how people could use numbers to review games, especially a ten digit scale.
Kirintal (4 months ago)
Honestly I much prefer your scale. So many games get classified as 8's and 9's that it kinda becomes meaningless while some 6's can be entirely worth while. Also price and value for money is a major consideration for me. Do I think X price is worth Y hours of gameplay. 7/10 does not give me any information about that. Huh. Didn't know about the bell.
Contra Machina (4 months ago)
Just stop ranting about options menus, graphics, and sound, and I'll be good.
Contra Machina (4 months ago)
I appreciate your honest and civil reply. I'm sorry if I sound like a douche; I tried to be respectful while still getting my point across. Thanks for suggesting something I might be interested in, and thanks for being cool about it.
ACG (4 months ago)
You might like Skillup then. might be more your style and is a good solid reviewer you should check him out. As for me. I was doing that at 0 subs, and on the prior channel. so it really has nothing to do with subs. Its just me
Contra Machina (4 months ago)
Of course you won't, because it's what got you to 460+ thousand subs. Don't get me wrong, there ARE tons of sheep and casuals who go for this sort of thing, but I'm not one of them. A bunch of popular channels with millions of subs did/do the same thing in their non-reviews, so I don't doubt you'll stay happy with tons of subs making a living. Just don't spend half your review on it is all I'm saying. Your reviews are becoming the "if you like it you like it, if you don't you don't" sort of reviews in which a third or half the video is dedicated to things that don't greatly affect how the game actually is. Then you give us a tutorial and end off on a neutral note which doesn't really help me. There's a lot of older classic games which I love, yet those games don't have detailed options menus, insane graphics, or superior HD sound. They're just good ol' games. These things aren't greatly affecting the game's fun factor. If there's a problem with the options, graphics, or sound in a game, then sure tell us about it; otherwise I don't need to hear about these things for 5-10 minutes or listen to a tutorial that explains bits of the game for me - that's for me to find out if I actually play the thing. And if you're response is going to be something along the lines of "don't watch my videos, then! get out! there's the door!" - don't respond. I just pulled up your review for 'Detroit: Become Human' and if it doesn't help me I'll be unsubscribing.
ACG (4 months ago)
wont ever stop that
badassgamer (4 months ago)
I love your reviews. I really appreciate the depth you are able to give in your reviews. I personally don’t believe in review scores, but your choice of scale works for me. I absolutely hate numerical review scores! Review scores seem like a summary of the review content and don’t represent the full value. The information in the review is the score! It bothers me that a person could only care about a game’s review score to help them make a purchasing decision. Keep up the good work and great content.
Imanu-el (5 months ago)
I actually like your scoring. Sure, it's easier to know that 95 score is an amazing game, while a 75 is an ok game, but I take a very similar approach when I buy a game. Do I want to pay full price, wait for some PS4 store sale or not touch it. Your scoring provides a different approach than the norm, so I appreciate the effort.
CricketStyleJ (5 months ago)
Your buy/wait/avoid rating system is really not very helpful to me. But I still like your reviews because you go into deeper detail than most other review channels (while still avoiding spoilers), and because I like your sense of humor.
packingdoe (5 months ago)
It's really nice to see the amount of effort you put into your reviews. The reviews from Gamespot or IGN can be helpfull, but when I truly want to know about the details of a game I always visit your channnel. Heck, I even watch your reviews about games that came out 5 years ago just for entertainment. Hope your channel will keep growing man, you really deserve it!
Subi_fan (5 months ago)
There's nothing wrong with decimal rating scale, its simply the likes of IGN, GameSpot who have turned it into a joke, like if you watch how people react at their lower than 8/10 reviews, they act like 7/10 is a bad score and 6/10 games is not worth playing so they tend to overrate everything now to applease ignorants.
Micah McElroy (5 months ago)
Thanks for your excellent reviews. I always check out your videos when I'm debating a purchase. Keep doing what you're doing! :)
Jason Caputo (5 months ago)
Really dig what you do and the way you do it. One of the aspects of your reviews that I find very useful for deciding whether to buy a game or not is how you explain so throughly and eloquently why you like or dislike an element of a game. You do this so well, I can figure out if I would like a game even if you didn’t or not like a game even if you did, and I find it much harder to do that consistently with other reviewers. Fun factor-wise, I dig the hell out of your rapid fire linguistic gymnastics.
The Raff (5 months ago)
I love you
Eiad Tarabulsi (5 months ago)
Karak is the best reviewer and ACG is the best video game channel on YouTube, period. His reviews are lengthy, detailed, honest and enjoyable, which I definitely appreciate. Thanks Karak for the continued hard work and dedication. Keep it up!
Daemon247 (5 months ago)
The best game reviewer.Period.
mike s. (5 months ago)
Karak, to my eyes you are the most decent and straight forward reviewer I can think of; and I have been playing and following games for almost 30 years. Can't really describe how much I value the dignity and honesty that characterizes all of your uploads. Congratulations and keep up the amazing work!
SkillGame (5 months ago)
I've only recently discovered your channel. I like it so much that I'm working my way through a bunch of your older videos, regardless of whether or not I've played the games. Listening to your take on things reminds me of things I loved, and is also helping me choose some older games to add to my library. Thank you for the great content!
David H. (5 months ago)
I give this video a 4 out of 5
ACG (5 months ago)
never touch
Noah Larsen (5 months ago)
I love your scoring system, that was one of the reasons I subbed a while ago. Like what does a 5/10 mean. I love gmod bc it’s a meme but I would rate it like a 5 bc the lack of official content.
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks!
Nick Leon (5 months ago)
Best game reviews on YouTube. Keep up the great work!
Wref (5 months ago)
To me, I treat a "wait for a sale" as a "wait for a patch", because the game will be generally patched and hopefully, for the most part, un-fucked by the time it goes on sale. I look at Steam User Reviews, Steam Curator Reviews, Zero Punctuation and Karak for whether or not I want to buy a game. Whose review opinion do you trust on games?
Tom King (5 months ago)
Hey could you do a review on divinity original sin 2?
MrCayuga (5 months ago)
I pretty much stopped bothering with other reviewers. I like how everything is structured, I love how in depth you go about sound and music (finally somebody who gets it) and most importantly I really appreciate how you always talk about performance. I really loathe professional (filled with sponsored bullcrap?) reviewers giving games 8/10 or even 9/10 to games that are a slideshow no matter the hardware (if there's no 60 fps, its unplayable for me personally). Keep it up Karak, hope your channel will keep growing as it is the best review channel on yt.
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks
Ross Kittel (5 months ago)
I love your ranking system you use, I just wish you had another higher/better tier grouping of games. For flawed games you have some flexibility to rate between ranking a game as buy on sale or no buy, but there doesn't seem to be a distintion for games that are more than just solid games that get the "buy" ranking, but are something special. I'm sure your answer would be something like "it's in the context, it's personal preference" but with the amount of detail you go into there's always going to be flaws, and it feels like too many games get bumped into the "buy" category that can hide the games that come off as truly special to you.
ACG (5 months ago)
ya it is indeed in the context. Another level would by definition require MORE context as do any review systems with multiple worded tiers
WCanyon (5 months ago)
You are absolutely my favorite game reviewer. Doing great work, keep it up.
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks
EDC1911 (5 months ago)
Best game reviewer
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks EDC
Primordial Entropy (5 months ago)
Lol not only are you one of my favorite YouTubers but your comment section is always gold. Love it!
ACG (5 months ago)
yes indeed
Jonathan Johnson (5 months ago)
Your the best non biased reviewer out there, you explain things important to all types of gamers and their game preference or style. Keep on reviewing Karak......Oh where did you get those posters from
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks!
Rubix Pube (5 months ago)
I think you are the best reviewer out there. watch all your videos and I don’t even own a PC. Your insight is unmatched and your love for videos is obvious. I play ALL console games (PS4 and Switch) and your reviews spark a need for me. A need to want to do what you do. Video games are so important to me and my free time almost always goes to them. I’m a psychotherapist and sometimes I wish my life turned out different because my passion for video games outweighs my passion for helping people (strange to say but #honesty ¯\_(ツ)_/¯) keep up the fantastic work!
ACG (5 months ago)
I know that feel I did other stuff for over 20 years
IST Fitness PA (5 months ago)
I don't care about any final verdict of any reviewer. I apricciate the opinion and input of the person but at the end I'm deciding if I buy/like it or not, no matter how good/bad the game is.
teachermario (5 months ago)
Well so far your videos have been very helpful or insightful and I rely on them if I'm not quite sure I like a game or not as well as checking for those little details which can be things that pull me in or break the deal. Keep up the great work!
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks
Robin D (5 months ago)
The rating scale system is just fine.
Simone Hicks (5 months ago)
Sho-nuff!!! On the wall. "Whose the master! " Extra cool points from me.
ACG (5 months ago)
The shogun of harlem
Contact SC (5 months ago)
I think your approach is unique and you have a great way of speaking. However, I think your comments are off regarding dealing with gaming PR/ press. You're clearly intelligent - being objective isn't difficult for intelligent people - you simply accept that attending promo events (and accepting flights/ hotels, etc as part of it) doesn't mean you can't then assess what you experience objectively. The PR folk aren't trying to bribe you, that's an overly simplistic interpretation by stupid people, they're trying to create an efficient demo of the game in one spot for lots of diverse attendees. You can remain objective, fair and unbiased. The best PR folk don't want you to be anything other.
ACG (5 months ago)
uhm...thats why I made it incredibly clear that this wasn't the case
Blinkster93 (5 months ago)
I always like your reviews out of everyone. Due to the detail to everything even small.
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks!
K.C.O. JoUrNeY (5 months ago)
ACG rules. f CANCER
Zed (5 months ago)
Getting this insight into your approach and mindset not only allows me to better decide on what you're reviewing, but also gives me even more respect for you and your channel - you add such value to the games, to this site and to your viewers. It feels like your mission is essentially to empower people to enhance their lives easily and to the maximum degree. And that's really the best mission of all. Thank you.
ACG (5 months ago)
awesome Zed glad they work for ya
jonnymac4910 (5 months ago)
Your articulate dialogue make these videos great. Whether its scripted or not, it all seems extremely seemless. I love it.
saitama (5 months ago)
I like this types of videos ^.^ also I miss your puking gnome from gravity falls.
Squirrel Bottom (5 months ago)
I really love your channel and I love that you're in it to help us out
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks SB
Gabriel Maranhão (5 months ago)
What about the live streams with the patreons??
ACG (5 months ago)
not sure what you mean
Robin Tirkey (5 months ago)
Still waiting for Mass effect 2 part 2 walking the walk...
Feisty Ghus (5 months ago)
Really appreciate that you buy a copy of every reviewed game. You have more integrity in your work than most journalists! And I think your rating scale is perfect, I don't understand why people care about the difference between a 9 and a 10, both are highly recommended to buy.
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks
Black Mamba (5 months ago)
Agree with most of your reviews except Destiny.......lol
ACG (5 months ago)
lol it happens
lucas struna (5 months ago)
so....... was this a buy?
Josh Lay (5 months ago)
Big fan of your work for about a year now. I like your sense of humor, and i think we share a similar taste in games. Keep up the great videos !
Roy Jr. Wilson (5 months ago)
Nice vid
Felsbrocken (5 months ago)
Stay yourself; Karak. You do you. Been a follower for years now and have watched every video I could find over time. Studying game design; I really enjoy the way your reviews are different than many others. I feel like you somehow find a way to transform a 3h joseph anderson video into a condensed; technical version of 20minutes; and your eloquency and speed of thought; paired with a clear pronounciation; really makes your reviews a pleasure. Also; I dont have any fucking money; working all the offtimes only not to drown in bills; so I really gotta know what interests me; is affordable; and fun all at once. Looking forward to more walking the walks! (I commented that for about the 5th time now I think; love them.) :D
Felsbrocken (5 months ago)
ACG thank you too; man!
ACG (5 months ago)
Thanks Fels
Jon D (5 months ago)
You are awesome in my opinion!! Keep up the good work.
Mundoin (5 months ago)
You are like a star that shines light in the dark age of games. You have excellent reviews by far compared to anyone I've seen on YouTube in the recent years.
Greggy D (5 months ago)
Karak is such a weirdo, but there's no doubt he's a smart motherfucker.
CadillacVyse (5 months ago)
Shonuff!
CalumF1 (5 months ago)
Your score scale is perfect for me. I feel like when people use a numerical scale it often completely negates the context of the reviews for some viewers. I often see people arguing things like, "You gave this game a 9/10 but this other game was a 7.5/10." Numerical scores just invite viewers to focus only on the final score.
Greg Dawson (5 months ago)
Stumbled across your channel a while back and it's quickly become one of my "go to" reviews for new games. Thanks for your commitment to producing professional, objective reviews.
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks Greg spread the word. Maybe stop by the patron and join the discord. Would love to have more folks to talk to.
Fenrir 07 (5 months ago)
ive always had the notification bell on and never get notified, but i look for your videos every day :) Edit: and yet i get notified when someone likes my comment. Go figure.
SKINNY STRANGER (5 months ago)
162 likes, but 0 views. 😐 Wtf?
Paul Leach (5 months ago)
Dat thumbnail though. Reminds me of my old ZZ-Top PEZ dispenser.
ACG (5 months ago)
lol
Alta Silencia (5 months ago)
These are some of the best, most well thought out reviews on the internet.
K3mp (5 months ago)
I don't buy any games without watching your review
Samuel Bosque (5 months ago)
Your channel is truly the most accurate of them all even IGN. The system is great and true to a gamer and regular buyer. Excellent work!
john montoya (5 months ago)
Crazy Devs want you to give a finished score but dont always have a finished game.....wierd!
john montoya (5 months ago)
Man you are the best sir! I love how your reviews have character and class. The first time I heard your tag line, I was like, "yes finally an honest take!" Not "here is your score now go buy or don't." No disrespect to other reviewers but when I am seriously on the fence about a game. I come here. Keep up the great work!
Norwegian Imposter (5 months ago)
At first glance Emperor Ming was Kratos! I need sleep.
Hanno (5 months ago)
Is this an apology video because you didnt give Deadfire the correct 10 out of buy, rent, never touch replaced by wait for deep sale on pc?
Bowman (5 months ago)
I'm a new subscriber and you were referenced to me by another reviewer. I watch as many reviews. Some content creators I like and agree with, some I don't like and disagree with and some make me laugh. I like getting all different points whether I agree or not. Information is important to me and I'm confident I can determine what's true, false or biased. Thanks for your work and I hope to see more content in the future.
Yayanonymity (5 months ago)
Not to sound hyperbolic, but I freakin' love you, man. Your passion, integrity, and attention to detail make your reviews the best I've ever seen. I may have had some alcohol, but I mean it.
ACG (5 months ago)
glad you like them!
ZeVio74 (5 months ago)
Is just me, or is there some creepy music in the background?
ThirdEyedeas (5 months ago)
Karan on some real shit I didn’t know you had gone to a Ubisoft presser in the past but you handled it as admirably as can be. I am a real jaded person but you are setting the standard for what a game journalist should be. I seldom even line up with your thoughts on titles but I don’t agree with the common maxim gamers tend to say to find critics with the same tastes. Keep on rocking man.
ACG (5 months ago)
my thanks man
D Niffy (5 months ago)
Your rating scale is the only one that makes sense. Numbers don't mean anything. You would buy a game immediately if it was excellent, maybe wait for a sale if it's good with minor issues, rent a game if it's only good for a single sitting or never touch it if the game is terrible.
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks man
Sky Walkies (5 months ago)
I love long reviews. I hate 2-3 minute long info videos on YT. Cough IGN.
Beer Bourbon and Games (5 months ago)
Explained very well and love how you score. Its why I watch you over others for reviews.
Beer Bourbon and Games (5 months ago)
ACG Always do man!
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks spread the word
Degree361 (5 months ago)
41 Comments, No views YouTube at its finest
Wolve Rine (5 months ago)
Degree361 this is getting out of hand. Almost every new uploaded vid has this comment. People thinking they found a bug and feels so great about it. But common sense and/or understanding of how certain algorithms work could explain this to you. It has a very simple explanation if you'd only spend a little moment to ponder why it happens. Here is the tl;dr version. Views will only register after about 50% of viewing duration for each viewer. comments count as soon as it is posted. Same as likes/dislikes . There. May you never post this kind of comment on any new videos ever again. One less stacks up.
I love your reviews, but l do think your rating needs at least one, or maybe two more seperations.
L33TBrownGuy (5 months ago)
I always love behind the scene stuff and just learning more about the process of anything in general
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks
iVootek (5 months ago)
Holy crap first time I see your face, did not know you were a Viking! XD Love your channel man!
ACG (5 months ago)
indeed hahaha
Laguna Zancruz (5 months ago)
162 likes no views wtf YouTube
Degetei (5 months ago)
Love your videos, I love the check what you think before making a purchase. Could you do a review of "For the King"?
Luterin (5 months ago)
Get your International Podcast Podbean/Soundcloud working again!!! Last episode there was #79! :(
John Shepard (5 months ago)
I would say this video is a “Buy.”
Rhino Virus (5 months ago)
I preordered.
ACG (5 months ago)
lol
joeseyeuh hell (5 months ago)
You are the man, man.
Adam (5 months ago)
these are always interesting and informative man. I know I've been a supporter for awhile and it is consistently awesome
Dániel Leskó (5 months ago)
Your reviews are amazing, if I ever wanna buy a game, you are the first channel I look at for opinions
Punishment90 (5 months ago)
You are one of the only reviewers that I take to heart. We have similar taste so it's nice to see games reviewed so well that may not get much attention. Keep it up, you're kicking ass.
ACG (5 months ago)
glad you like the stuff
Gwendly (5 months ago)
You talk a bit about DLC at the end but I don't think I've ever seen you do reviews of DLC content, is there any possibilities of you doing reviews on DLCs? Love the content and while I don't always agree with you at least you always articulate why you feel the way you do about a title which means I can understand how you came to your conclusions ; which is more than I can say for most reviewers :)
JackGTX (5 months ago)
One of the reasons I'm subbed to you is because your reviews are long, which I feel is needed to cover a game and all it has to offer... <10 minutes to review a full game is too short for my liking because there's so many details in a game that it can't be covered that quick. That's what I think anyway.
JackGTX (5 months ago)
Also thought i'd add: never thought the 1-10 scale for score didn't do much for me. How good is the game? Eh, 8.5. 8.5? Where's the .5 come from? Just saying to someone; look game's great; get it. Or games alright; wait for a sale. The score system makes sense.
ACG (5 months ago)
thanks
IAmKasinova (5 months ago)
Ive always liked your reviews but i very rarely find myself having the same opinion as you on games. I like to listen to what you say and then think on it for myself and decide. No opinion is 100% similar
ACG (5 months ago)
ya for sure
Abbreviated Reviews (5 months ago)
You know what I always say... if you're doing it right, you're always done in two minutes. Words to live by...
WCanyon (5 months ago)
Ever wonder why you're single? lol
Abbreviated Reviews (5 months ago)
Rhino Virus If they're not happy in two minutes or less I just send them to Karak.
Kaili Burns (5 months ago)
Forty hour games shrunk to two minutes of context. Lol
Rhino Virus (5 months ago)
I'm guessing you're not too popular with the ladies. Jk
Wega Winarso (5 months ago)
lmao
Brian Quinn (5 months ago)
First! I think?
Dystopian Pro (5 months ago)
Personally I think your reviews are top notch with an engaging format. Stumbled across the channel a while back and honestly wouldn't trust anyone more when it comes to reviews. Keep up the awesome work buddy!
Matt Davis (5 months ago)
58 likes no views lol
Bryan G (5 months ago)
I love your channel. I count on your reviews for the choices I make with my gaming dollars.
GoldenBoy (5 months ago)
Keep it up Karak! You're great!
Eric Rayfield (5 months ago)
Can you do a review for Conan Exiles?
Wolve Rine (5 months ago)
Pic on the right looks like Broken Matt
Derek McGowan (5 months ago)
Maybe, but its Sho'nuff
Bryan G (5 months ago)
I do love your channel and it is a source I count on and use for the choices I make with my gaming dollar.
fcukugimmeausername (5 months ago)
I think your rating system is pretty common sense. It's your perspective and that's the best way to rate a game. An arbitrary numbering system makes no sense, it's like telling someone the road speed limit but no one knows if it's MPH, KPH etc
John Shearer (5 months ago)
Sho'nuff
MaximusMansteel (5 months ago)
I'm glad you don't do more preview type videos. Too often those snippets of gameplay media is allowed to see at preview events are tailor made to build hype, and aren't necessarily indicative of the final product. I prefer it when you can really dig into a full title and see how it all plays out.
A M S (5 months ago)
I love your indepth game reviews. You're my go to when I need info on a new game. I really enjoy your contents. One of my favorites Video Game Youtubers.
Kevin Lopez (5 months ago)
Continue your method because it is so neutral and very few reviewers are impartial.
rio23x H (5 months ago)
Wow u have a face and you r not the guy I thought did this u have a great channel and very sophisticated

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.