HomeОбразованиеRelated VideosMore From: Whiskey Vault

Ep 160: Stranahan's Colorado Whiskey Review and Tasting.

404 ratings | 17019 views
Today we do a review and tasting of Stranahan's Colorado Whiskey. Check out the Instagram account @whiskey_marketing_school ** Can I donate a whisk(e)y for you to review in The Whisk(e)y Vault? Of course! If you’re interested in making a tax deductible donation towards our whiskey selection, head on over to: http://austinwhiskyvault.com/whisky-donations/ ** What's with the necklaces? Rex is a whiskey mooch. His necklace is a manifestation of pure glory - forged from the irradiated bones of eagles and wolves. Also a tube sock. See the origin story here: http://goo.gl/JMc2Hr Daniel is a whiskey sommelier. His necklace is a token of his sommelier level, and he trains whiskey sommeliers at The Whisk(e)y Marketing School in Austin Texas. **A Whisk(e)y school? Yup. Here are a few things we believe. ** You don’t have to be a snob to appreciate and love great whiskey. Whisky and Whiskey (it depends on where it’s from) have been an important part of cultures around the world from time immemorial. Whiskey is a part of the very fabric of Western society, and in most places, is as common and accessible as beer. Like Jazz and wine, snobs have predictably hijacked whiskey appreciation, spoiling our natural, common connection with it and creating a false dichotomy of “good whiskey” and “bad whiskey.” It’s time to break through the emotional bias with facts and science. That’s what this school is about. ** The only valid definition of “good” whiskey is “whiskey you like to drink.” Learning how to share your love of whiskey in a way that connects people to the history and the story has more to do with public speaking and storytelling than it does with facts and tests. The best way to learn about whiskey and share that love is to drink whiskey and talk about it with friends. Study the history, find the stories, and discover the culture and the methods that have been developed over hundreds of years. That’s what you’ll do when you attend The Whisk(e)y Marketing School. ** You don’t need a marketing degree to learn how to share your love of whiskey with the world. There's an old saying, "In business, it's not what you know... It's who you know." Regardless the industry you're in, most people are clumsy and ineffective when it comes to "networking" because they ignore a very important rule - Relationship First, Business Second. There's a tremendous amount of curiosity about Whisk(e)y today. It's a great excuse for you to gather a group of people who want to have fun and learn something new. The Whisk(e)y School teaches you how to tap into that curiosity, and share your love of whisk(e)y in an unpretentious way. You're demonstrating knowledge, expertise, and an engaging personality - things valued by every gatekeeper, in every industry. Or would you rather hand out business cards and cross your fingers? Learn more at http://www.whiskymarketing.org
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (234)
John Hicks (22 days ago)
I just went to the Stranahans distillery in Colorado. We did the hour tour I really thought the yellow label had a strong honey taste and you could definitely smell the chocolate. We also had the diamond peak I felt sbout a half hour after the tasting like I had a malty cereal in my mouth.
txlady753 (1 month ago)
Hi guys!!! Still binging and now you are reviewing my favorite whiskey since 2009! We couldn’t get in Texas until a couple of years ago. Friends would bring it back for me when they would go to CO. I bought my first bottle there in 2009 and was instantly in love. They had already stopped allowing the volunteers to write on the labels by the time you released this video for the very reason Rex mentioned. Only the master distiller is allowed to write on them and you can only buy those at the distillery. I was able to buy a bottle of single barrel at Total Wine at the lower price, because they had it marked as an Original instead of Single Barrel. The extra yellow label at the bottle gives it away. 😉 I am still trying to get my hands on the elusive SnowFlake. Black Diamond is my favorite by them.
Donavin Geiger (1 month ago)
There needs to be a cigar review as awesome as these guys are
talljohn5350 (2 months ago)
You guys still never gave us the promised top American single malts
Frazer O'Brien (3 months ago)
Your name is Dick Whittington?!
Frazer O'Brien (2 months ago)
Whiskey Vault named after the book character?
Whiskey Vault (3 months ago)
yep!
Dylan Northrup (4 months ago)
Just picked up a bottle of this that was on clearance.... glad I got to try it. Your tasting notes helped me identify some of the aromas... interestingly, with a drop of water it immediately brought to mind a Country Kolsch beer with that definite toasted barley aroma I get (which you’re calling toasted marshmallow) very interesting.
VCOOGAN (4 months ago)
Are you Scottish or just drunk??
aclefler (7 months ago)
Wait have we done a top 10 North America whiskey video yet???? Y’all need to get on this!
Self Sufficient Man (8 months ago)
Will the American single malt list sourced by viewers become a thing still?
Eric Schwab (8 months ago)
I recently saw that they had a pallet of Stranahan’s at the Costco in Littleton CO. They are selling it for $43! I’ve been trying to find a deal on this whiskey for a while and now my search is over!
Chace Hawkins (8 months ago)
Today is re-stocking day!
Brandon Lee (9 months ago)
I get straw and hot tamales candy from this, among other notes.
Obey The Law (9 months ago)
My Whiskey collection is now out of control. Thanks a lot. I am just happy I have enough money to afford this hobby,
Scott Carpenter (10 months ago)
Daniel, at 2:49 you mentioned the Black Diamonds but never pulled it out! I’m very curious about that one. Great video as always. Cheers
Dustin Tran (10 months ago)
Love this channel, although watching these videos makes me want to have whisk(e)y and I usually watch these at work....during the day...luckily I work in Denver and we can do that!
Kevin Hilliard (10 months ago)
I dont even drink whiskey because im a poor bastard but this channal has made me want to get into whiskey the ball busting shananagins of this channal is great and has now taken up my entire youtube home screen
Bauhauser (11 months ago)
"you must have already been drinking whisky" True That, but don't take it personally guys, the stuff is just so damn good. Sláinte.
Lurp Jr (1 year ago)
8:05
Saltire (1 year ago)
There is no way your real name is Dick Whittington, Daniel, stop pulling our pissers!!! ;) Was Rex about to say something about his long fingers? Seemed there was a cut!
Saltire (1 year ago)
Ha fair enough then, that is pretty cool to be honest! I can see actually see a resemblance here in this engraving - I hope you have a cat Daniel, that would be disappointing if not! :D http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/12/19/article-2076060-0F296AB300000578-742_306x423.jpg
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
It totally is :-) Richard is my first name. Family name. Dating all the way back to "you know who".
Skill et (1 year ago)
So THAT'S why Crown Royal sucks so badly. Mystery solved.
David Homoney (1 year ago)
I am a huge fan of Stranahan's
Drew Mason (1 year ago)
Hine
William Poppe (1 year ago)
Love Stranahan's. But... where's the black Diamond?
ngkos (1 year ago)
Hey Daniel, if you're reading this, can you please do the bucket-back-and-forth thingy in your next video? Please? Rex, please make sure that he does it. Thanks.
John Peterson (1 year ago)
Damn, I got all settled in for a 3 story episode and only got 1!! A future episode must be titled "the other 2 Stranahan's storys"
Strange Relations (1 year ago)
best intro ever!
Joe (1 year ago)
Do WE get free whiskey for listening to Daniel's stories? Jk, love the stories.
When Chuck Norris was born he drove his mom home from the hospital.
Terry Steiner (1 year ago)
I know originally Stranahans was only available in Colorado. They have since expanded into nation wide distribution. At least I can confirm that I have bought bottles in the Dakotas and Minnesota. I do not know if they still do volunteer bottling but they no longer have hand written notes on the label; just a batch stamp. You never got around to tasting the black label Stranahans (I forget the name). I hope you try it in a future video. I personally prefer the standard yellow label, but that is just me.
Ivan TheMadVandal (1 year ago)
Terry Steiner I can confirm that the Snowflake releases rock, gotten the last 5
Terry Steiner (1 year ago)
I would love to try Stranahan's Snowflake but that is only available one day a year from the distillery. Seeing how I do not live in Denver that is not likely to ever happen. https://www.stranahans.com/whiskey/snowflake/
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
The Black Diamond! It's good, but the yellow is a classic.
Andrew Wilson (1 year ago)
I'm a bit late, and the guy is ALMOST DEFINITELY CRAZY, but.... There are rumors that the larger companies have been looking into things like Reverse Osmosis as alternatives to the heat/cost-intensive distilling process. You can also (theoretically, despite them being miscible) extract alcohol in a centrifuge if you are careful/rich enough. Personally, that sounds fine for vodka or fuel production, but not very useful for whiskey, since you're specifically NOT trying for 100% ethanol. And regardless of whatever else they are doing, the big companies are for sure currently still using mostly stills, so.. crazy guy is crazy after-all. But maybe he is also a genius!
solan417 (1 year ago)
I had an extremely early bottle and I still remember it said "listening to Merle Haggard' great bottle should have bought more back then
Daniel Brown (1 year ago)
As a Daniel myself, I'd like to add some nuance to the meaning of the name. It does mean 'God is my judge', but it's more like 'God alone is my judge', as in 'My character is of such an unassailable nature, that the only one able to judge me is God'.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
That is correct. And equally terrifying.
Daniel Brown (1 year ago)
Not sure if that's any less daunting, though.
Andrew Harrison (1 year ago)
Rex receives terrible news - 3:35
Andrew Harrison (1 year ago)
Daniel reveals his REAL name - 0:27
Jason Voorheese (1 year ago)
Do most American single malts use fresh oak for their maturing?
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Not all, but it is common.
Quintin Casl (1 year ago)
Daniel.... What about Snowflake?
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Haven't tried it yet!
drroger98 (1 year ago)
Daniel, with "burnt marshmallows, graham cracker" and then dark chocolate, you basically say Stranahan is an alcoholic s'mores
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Oh man, it totally would work for that. I need to go back with that in mind.
Richard Labonne (1 year ago)
This has nothing to do with this video but first I'd like to thank you for this channel because you have helped me find an appreciation for whisky. It's great fun! I recently turned 40 and received many bottles. On the weekend I received a further 3 bottles of which I opened and tasted. After a few hours it was suggested that I blend all 3 and try that. It immediately reminded me of blendageddon and thought yes I'm doing that. So as my base I used Balvenie double wood 17 year and added 15% Aberfeldy 21 and Dalmore King Alexander. Separately these are delicious but together it blew my mind. This is probably a big no no, but I'm happy I was drunk enough to go through with the idea. Great channel! Keep it up.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Never be afraid to blend! I'm guessing that blend was freaking amazing. Happy birthday!
GunnySGT1911 (1 year ago)
Coming to the game late (I started watching after the Modern Rouge videos) I went back and started binge watching all the episodes in order. In addition to watching how the show evolved, it was very interesting to me to see how Rex progressed. He started out seemingly a novice, unsure, asking questions. But as the videos increased, you can seem him gaining experience, knowledge and confidence. And in a few of the later episodes he even points out things that Daniel missed. Of course after one hundred and sixty videos sampling a couple of whiskeys in each one..... 350 whiskeys later and he is quite well versed and knowledgeable. Like anything else, it just takes practice. Rex, it was obviously a grueling challenge but I think your dedication and hard work has paid off. Thanks for taking one for the team, Rex. It shows how much you care. Daniel, I love your stories and find the information and history of the whiskey/distillery entertaining and informative. You go ahead and nerd out as much as you want and keep the stories coming. P.S. Rex, keep on giving him crap about it. He's a nerd and has it coming. ;)
GunnySGT1911 (1 year ago)
Since you put it that way.... I'm happy to be one of the movers an shakers. Going to try out Bulleit Bourbon as I watch #161. Again, thanks for the great videos.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Love this writeup. I can't believe we've been through so many whisky glasses since we started this. What a wild ride. And you guys have made it dramatically more fun. As a matter of fact, you guys are probably the only reason we keep doing it.
boy jenus neutronoid (1 year ago)
I know people have requested "top 5 whiskey" videos and so on before and you haven't done them, but what about doing a video on the first few whiskeys you would recommend someone buys for their collection? I know it's mainly based on personal preference but it would be interesting to see what someone with so much knowledge would recommend.
boy jenus neutronoid (1 year ago)
I eagerly await your caving.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
We'll likely cave and do one of these soon.
J Corbett (1 year ago)
I have to wait will Monday for a new video? How selfish of you to not constantly entertain myself with video on a daily basis. Especially on the days when I consume the most whiskey. I mean, I thought you were stand up guys.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
We stand castigated
I had it at a bar and it was so bad I thought that the bar refilled the bottle with something else.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
That's disappointing! What do you prefer usually?
I will definitely have to get a bottle and give it a second shot
Hunter Fielden (1 year ago)
Hey Daniel can you talk more about this Cask cocktail that you guys briefly talked??
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Traditionally a Manhattan is a whisky based cocktail with the addition of sweet (red) vermouth, a few dashes of Angostura bitters, and a maraschino cherry. If you mix it in large qty's into a barrel and let it sit, you could end up with a bit of the charred barrel blending affect on the cocktail. It's all the rage in cocktail bars right now. "Barrel Aged Cocktails"
Hunter Fielden (1 year ago)
wow first of all thanks for answering me. love your show!! i have bought monkeys shoulder, angels envy, green spot and Dalmores 10 because of your show and have blamed you guys for it to the wife thanks for taking the hit for me. yeah i was just trying to under stand the comment about the Manhattan cocktail is it a Frankenstein whiskey? or an actual cocktail that you make in a barrel?
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
The one that one of the tribe was making?
agris batna (1 year ago)
Hi. ! Try "Ararat10"
Still It (1 year ago)
Ok . .. so . . . . Dick puddin from now on?
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Well dang
adalt84 (1 year ago)
I hit 160 and was so happy to finally be up to date on the Whiskey Vault then had an odd panic attack. Where is the next episode, insult, dad joke, or whiskey. I was very concerned until I realized it was Sunday. Keep up the great and entertaining work. If you want to review Black Bottle for another committed viewer or soon to be husband committed by his wife that would be great.
Jason Fisk (1 year ago)
I have a toast video here; https://youtu.be/Pq3FbA04CXU Jason: Greek - Healer (Originated in Jason and the Golden Fleese. 500bc. Fisk: Scandinavian - Fish, Fisher. In the English Domesday Book under Viking words. 900/1000 AD.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
This is awesome.
Greg B (1 year ago)
I struggle to find any place local to find a good selection of scotch. I notice you buy from Master of Malt a lot but shipping needless to say is expensive. Is there any websites in the US you like ti use for ordering that won't kill me with shipping costs? Thanks for the tips.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
the whisky shop seems to be solid on shipping. http://www.whiskyshopusa.com/
David Graham (1 year ago)
Daniel and Rex. Myself and my friend are going to a Whiskey Festival over here in Manchester UK. Kavalan, Balcones, Auchentoshan and many more are going to be there. Any recommendations? https://www.thewhiskylounge.com/event/manchester-whisky-festival-2017-2/
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
That is awesome! Since you're in Manchester, try to get the Balcones. It's rare that they're over there, and it's a treat to try. If Longmorn brought their 16, try that. It's a gold standard of Speyside IMO. And Michter's American Whiskey is freakishly smooth. There's really not a bad presenter on that list.
Hey Daniel, big fan of your reviews and your vids with the mooch. I always look forward to seeing what's new or what you'd recommend to try out. My first bottle of whisky was Teeling single malt which I got from a food and wine expo here in the Philippines. I was definitely not disappointed with it; it's my favorite whiskey as of now. Anyway, a good friend of mine invited me over to his restaurant the other day to taste Singleton 15 years. It was the first time I tried it and I really enjoyed it. For some reason I thought I couls smell faint notes of bananas. I don't think I've seen you guys do a video on Singleton so just wanted to know your thoughts on if it's a good whisky or not. Thanks. Sláinte!
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
We have singleton on the list! Well done on Teeling. I love those guys.
Whiskey-Wise (1 year ago)
OK guys, this is getting bad. I had a dream about y'all last night. The dream was that I went down to take a class with y'all and you were teaching about whiskey cocktails. You were making a mint julep. You were adding water to a glass filled well over the top with ice. You said to sluice the water in and after a brief discussion about what that meant, I asked what your recipe was. You responded with, "Bourbon, mint, orange juice, sugar, and of course sluiced water." As a Kentuckian I was so mad that I actually woke up right after that. So, please tell me you mint julep recipe so I can get some sleep. Thanks
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
hahahahahahaha. sluiced water..... I am so going to use this in the distillery tastings.
Rex (1 year ago)
Recipe?? I just drink it out of a can... sweet dreams , Greataxe3 😜
Gregg Postage (1 year ago)
I have been officially banished from the living room "smart TV" by the wife and daughter for binge watching the Whiskey Vault...
Eric Schwab (9 months ago)
I kept watching Whiskey Vault and now I’ve corrupted the wife. She’s watching the videos too.....she says Daniel’s laugh is infectious. She’s made some comparisons between myself and Rex......that was sad. I thought she loved me! Lol!
Gregg Postage (1 year ago)
It was not Knob Creek...but I now know what episode I'm going to watch next!
Still It (1 year ago)
I think you under value all the other episodes ;)
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
No question, it was the Knob creek episode
Rex (1 year ago)
Was it the Knob Creek episode that pushed them over the edge? ... yaaaah, it was the knob episode wasn't it. 😂
Wk1988 (1 year ago)
Hey guys, I've been watching for a couple months now. I mainly drink bourbons and I've recently tried Glenlivet 12 and Dalmore 12 and I have to say they're not for me. Do y'all have a whiskey under $100 that you would recommend for a bourbon drinker to try something different.
Daniel Henderson (6 months ago)
Wk1988 - You might try one of the heavy sherried scotches like Macallan 12 or Balvenie 12 at a restaurant or bar somewhere. They're the scotches that go towards the sweet side like bourbon.
Wk1988 (1 year ago)
Thanks for the suggestions I'll definitely give them a try. Really enjoy the channel.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
We mostly recommend the blends first, but it could be that you love the heavy wood and sweetness in bourbons. I'd say avoid any peated whisky until you get a taste for it. Maybe try out Redbreast 12yr (Irish) or Auchentoshan American Wood
Dimitris Damilos (1 year ago)
I think I commented about it at another video as well. Guys, you need to do a video about Fujikai 10. I find hilarious all these other whisky reviewers' reactions to it being utterly disgusted by it. Daniel, just give it to Rex as a surprise, telling him it's the Macallan M.
Dimitris Damilos (1 year ago)
HAHAHA! Oh man, if the delivery fee is not too high to send you this from London, I am doing it!
Rex (1 year ago)
Dimitris Damilos, i'm immediately curious about anything that is universally branded as "disgusting"
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
http://austinwhiskyvault.com/whisky-donations/
Dimitris Damilos (1 year ago)
Whiskey Vault What's the address we should use if we want to send you?
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Well, now that you've put it this way, I need to make this happen.
charlie.g.hague (1 year ago)
I've been wondering, are there any scotch distilleries that make bourbon? There are dozens of North American distilleries making Single Malts, obviously, but I've never heard of a Bourbon outside the U.S. Does such a thing exist? I'd love to try one if there is. If not, someone should really get on that! Side note: I think the slanted label is a marketing decision as well as an aesthetic one. From what I know about JW, they slant the label at a specific angle to create more surface area facing the customer. Since their bottles are square the label wraps around and you can't see it head on. Angling the label allows them to have bigger font and more of the label is visible to the customer. Also, looks good too.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Yeah, not enough experimentation going on.
charlie.g.hague (1 year ago)
Whiskey Vault True. But the mash bills for grain whisky arent gonna be 51% corn either. Just think it'd be cool to see a scotch distillery do a Bourbon based on all the American regulations. Seems odd no one has done it. Or even Canada. Never heard of a Canadian bourbon but seems like they should have one.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
No, the scottish distillers making what would be called "bourbon" is called "grain whisky" in scotland. And they're not using new barrels.
Kevin Ang (1 year ago)
any plans to explore the world of Japanese whisky?
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Yes! I love it. We've done a few, but we'll continue
laplantski (1 year ago)
Member, jiggers grow on trees
《dobber 》 (1 year ago)
laplantski yeh I member
sniper x (1 year ago)
dick witt
Rex (1 year ago)
sniper x, that's our channel description in 2 words. Dick wit.
Dresden Clark Graves (1 year ago)
Try Leopold Bros. Apple Flavored Whiskey! Tastes a lot better than it sounds!
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
it better
Dresden Clark Graves (1 year ago)
Daniel, I just realized you look like the white MC Ride, from Death Grips. Just an observation.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Ahhh, Stefan Burnett
Jeff Robertson (1 year ago)
Hey hey! I made it! My life is complete! Well... Not till Ive got a bottle of king alexander in my collection. But sickk none the less :) :)
Triplecap (1 year ago)
Lollapalooza!!
Triplecap (1 year ago)
And yes I am not leaving. :)
Bill Moss (1 year ago)
Watching the intro is what happens when all you have left to drink is Jim Beam White Label. I need to hit the liquor store tomorrow.
Pew Heretic (1 year ago)
Question or comment. I was told to just as the video ended.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Efficient as always
Rex (1 year ago)
Pew Heretic, well done.
Mark Peden (1 year ago)
The videos are great, found you through the modem rogue, and have watched all the past episodes. I bought my first full sized bottle of single malt today, after drinking monkey shoulder, and any 50ml samplers I could find. I bought Ardbeg 10, I was a bit nervous, but I love it!
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
I love that the world of whisky has resulted in people being nervous of a beverage. But it's true. It can kick your ass if you're not ready. Glad you dig it!
Mike (1 year ago)
another good vid, keep 'em coming
J Garchar (1 year ago)
I now understand you two I have been viewing back episodes and I got a great idea I would drink with you guys not the same whiskeys but the same type I did need help for my first scotch Glenmorangie 10 year I could only handle three episodes then definitely had to take a break Glad I found my people keep up the good work or not
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Glad you're here with us!
QuesadillasandPop (1 year ago)
Coming from a sales background, Daniel's stories are both interesting and useful. Please get Rex a chair and hand him a magazine to read while Daniel tells his stories. Also, update on my whiskey journey: one week in, and I can sip it straight without wanting to die. I assume enjoyment will come later.
Alex (1 year ago)
Jeez, a whisky moment from Ardbeg with a guy who doesn't like peated whisky. That's some unique taste buds!
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
HELL yes on the whisky moment. well done.
Jake&Rachel (1 year ago)
You just need to find your whiskey moment. I was in the same boat as you, I had a bunch of Irish whiskeys sitting on the shelf and after starting to drink them neat was wondering if I had tricked myself into liking whiskey. Then I tried Elijah Craig and I had my whiskey moment. You will know it by the light coming down from heaven and the angels singing. I had the pleasure of introducing my cousin to his whiskey moment. He never really drank alcohol before but had a close friend who was into non-peaty Scotch and would give him some. After hearing that I knew he would never try anything with peat so I went out and bought a bottle of Ardbeg 10 when I was last at his house. The face he made he first tasted it was pure amazement and joy. I knew I had found his whiskey moment. He perked up and came to life in a way I had seldom seen before. Just keep trying new whiskeys and you will have yours.
stephend50 (1 year ago)
Dram good!
Mark Ahmat (1 year ago)
My middle names are Dennis Richard
Michael Wellman (1 year ago)
Garrison Brothers led the way in Texas to allow distilleries. You need to go out there and check them out
Michael Funk (1 year ago)
I feel so vindicated! Also I need some of that Stranahan's Colorado whiskey. Plus a friend of mine is bringing me some 12 year old from the Glenora distillery on Canada's east coast. Can't wait to compare it to the standard Glen Breton 10 year old!
Tom Jackson (1 year ago)
FIRST!! Called it!
Tom Jackson (1 year ago)
Rex ....oh, the details! They always seem to get in the way... 😃
Rex (1 year ago)
Tom Jackson, you definitely didn't have dozens of people comment before you 😜
Tom Techmanski (1 year ago)
The Moooch didn't get to try the diamond peak!!! I guess stranahans will be making another showing sometime soon.
Quentin Bry (1 year ago)
quentin is pretty lame it means the fith
《dobber 》 (1 year ago)
so i was wondering why do they only seem to use oak woods is there a reason why they dont use like maple, mesquite or like fruit tree wood barrels just seems like a interesting variable to play with
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
It might be the only thing that "hyper aging" could accomplish. Heavier wood accent.
《dobber 》 (1 year ago)
Whiskey Vault maybe with the hyper "aging" theyve been doing they could make it work with new varietes of wood
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Mainly is the known interaction with the wood that oak gives. Plus, the cellulose structure allows the movement of whisky and air. Wood that is too dense will take way to long to affect the whisky.
THEcorpsCHanNEL1775 (1 year ago)
bought the balcones single malt yesterday it was damn good, might I even say great!
Chad Stewart (1 year ago)
You guys have talked about American mesquite smoked whiskies like colkegan and del bac but are there any other whiskies smoked with woods like pecan apple or even hickory PS they found a human head on the beach over here he had a note on his forehead the note read "I have no body"
Chad Stewart (1 year ago)
And I love how you tell him about the black diamond and then... NO POUR FOR MOOCH
Chad Stewart (1 year ago)
It sounds like something that would be either really interesting or absolutely terrible
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
hahahahaha. joke is awesome. I think the Corsair distillery is doing weird smoking stuff.
Terry Steiner (1 year ago)
I've always gotten cinnamon from Stranahans but that could be just me.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
yes! Me too!
Terry Steiner (1 year ago)
This may be my new favorite channel. I found out about you from your Modern Rogue episodes.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Glad you're here!
darrell hood (1 year ago)
So I was browsing Amazon for whiskey glasses and I came across some stainless steel glasses. Would you recommend glass over other materials and does it change the flavor? Thanks
《dobber 》 (1 year ago)
Whiskey Vault have you done more testing on those dark magic canadian taste changing glasses?
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Glass is less likely to add flavor and smell to the whisky. And the shape (tulip) helps the nose of the whisky, but outside that, experimentation is the best way to find your favorite.
GenCavox (1 year ago)
You didn't finish your story. Guys, I need the rest of the story.
Shane Stangle (1 year ago)
I have a short toast for you guys, WARNING small bit of PROFANITY. Here's to you, Here's to me. If I die before you. Fuck you, have one for me.
Titan Khan (1 year ago)
I see that bottle of Larceny just chilling there on the edge of the shelf... it's cheap and delicious. Sir review that shit
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
That shit shall be reviewed.
Rod Espinoza (1 year ago)
Cutlers 33 bourdon?
Julien Capolupo (1 year ago)
Great video !!
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
expressions and gestures!
Rex (1 year ago)
Words!!
Jake&Rachel (1 year ago)
Troll reply on an otherwise great comment thread!!!!!!
Triplecap (1 year ago)
Great reply to a great comment!!!!
Rex (1 year ago)
Great comment !! 😆
Soly War (1 year ago)
Maybe the guy was right and they got the alcohol with a specially knitted cloth filter made from mermaids hair or something? But I have to admit Rex, your voice is very nice to listen to.
Rex (1 year ago)
Soly War, I wonder where they are sourcing their mermaid hair. The stores in Austin are usually sold out.
Eric Matson (1 year ago)
Damn just as i get my pen to write it down Rex stops you( negative Moch Point for you Sir) Bring on the Top Ten
Rex (1 year ago)
Eric Matson, we can't bury that at the end of a random video. Gotta make the whole video about the list or people won't find it 👍
darrell hood (1 year ago)
Watching these videos are highlights of my day
Rex (1 year ago)
darrell hood, we're glad you're here 😀
Ryan Taylor (1 year ago)
Luckily I can find time at work to watch your videos. Unfortunately I'm not allowed to drink whisky at work....... that intro..... tsk tsk tsk
Rex (1 year ago)
Ryan Taylor, what kind of ridiculous job doesn't let you drink whiskey at work?!?! Next, you'll probably tell that you're not aloud to takes naps or play video games. Crazy.
Sam Willock (1 year ago)
Daniel, you know of the freezing method as well. Right?
Sam Willock (1 year ago)
Whiskey Vault you can make the mash, heated on a stove, but then you filter and freeze. Remove what freezes, and repeat. This is not to say that you're wrong, because you know you're right.
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
Nope. Which method?
WhiskyJason (1 year ago)
I thought you wanted to try the Stanahan's Diamond Peak??
Christian Daldy (1 year ago)
The only guy I know called Rex, was named after the dog. Damn fine dog.
Rex (1 year ago)
Christian Daldy, they named the dog after me. Damn fine me.
Thomas Murphy (1 year ago)
Daniel " I'm getting Samoa's !!! "
Ross Onyschak (1 year ago)
I can't believe you guys figured out Crown's bucket method
Jason Coates (9 months ago)
Which is basically the same thing, no?
Rex (1 year ago)
if you don't hear from me again, tell my wife and kids i love them... also, bury me with my whiskey... better yet, bury me with daniel's whiskey.
Chad Stewart (1 year ago)
Rex they already sent out a preemptive strive didn't you have to drink crown royals rye twice
Rex (1 year ago)
Ross O, now that the secrets out , I wonder if Crown will seek revenge on us...
Peter Schumacher (1 year ago)
"The part of you that escapes? That's the bad part" - Can we all just sit back and appreciate this beautiful example of ball-busting comedy?
Steve H (1 year ago)
So I live in Canada. I've had the opportunity, through my job (I work in a liquor store), to try lots of whiskey, including visiting the crown royal distillery (I work in its home province, so we get an industry insider look at the distillery). That guy was so full of crap that his burps smelled like farts. They have these amazing stills there and a huuuuuge column lol. Your videos help me sell stuff I've never tried so thank you. That being said, I tend to agree with your assessment of whiskey from Canada. There have been three Canadian whiskeys I liked and you've done one of those for sure (Forty Creek). The other two are Alberta Premium Dark Horse and Crown Royal Reserve. I'd like to get you some of this but because of shipping laws and my limping bank account that'll be a no go. I still haven't had the opportunity to try glen Breton and would love to try it someday.
Rex (1 year ago)
Steve H, yah Glen Breton is exceptional. Never worry about sending us anything if it's not practical for you. Glad we were able to help with the job, and double-glad to have you here 👍
Adam Farnsworth (1 year ago)
Before my daughter was born, the boy name we had picked out was Donovan. We learned that Donovan is a form of Donald, and the meaning of Donald is "Ruler of the World." My ex wife mentioned that whilst she was at Bible study, and a woman there asked my ex wife if she thought she might be carrying the Antichrist. My ex wife was not thrilled at the question. (Also, my ex wife is probably not the Antichrist either... probably)
Eric Schwab (8 months ago)
I know that lady.....she’s crazy!
Whiskey Vault (1 year ago)
hahahahaha .this is an awesome story.
Rex (1 year ago)
Adam Farnsworth, lol "... probably"
Lance_Harbor (1 year ago)
🌴🌴🌴👀🌴🌴🌴
Red Bearded Yeti (1 year ago)
Hurray!! Gotta love when you ask about whisky then the next day the whisky is reviewed! Maybe I'll get lucky and tomorrow you'll do McCarthy's single malt!?

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.