HomeВидеоигрыRelated VideosMore From: HaasGaming

Pillars of Eternity 50+ Hours REVIEW (No Spoilers)

948 ratings | 67900 views
► Support me on Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/HaasGaming ...in which I nitpick about my favourite game in years. With Pillars of Eternity, Obsidian attempts to recreate the wonder from the old Infinity Engine games. Does their cRPG match up? Find out in this review. No spoilers! ► Basics combat & attribute guide: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZEbrJlPcn0 ► Follow me on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com/HaasGaming ► Buy Pillars of Eternity on GOG: http://www.gog.com/game/pillars_of_eternity_hero_edition?pp=83f5ed72b8e6c092e084175a178fce939e1544a2 (Affiliate link) Pillars of Eternity Release: 03/26/2015 Developer: Obsidian Entertainment Publisher: Paradox Interactive
Category: Видеоигры
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (110)
amacm69 (3 months ago)
Is entire thing Voiced,
HaasGaming (3 months ago)
Unfortunately, no. There's a lot more reading involved than listening, important characters are generally fully voiced but side things generally aren't.
thandermax (3 months ago)
Sudden Difficulty spike in this game is very tedious + lack of potions
Stefan Denchev (4 months ago)
Should i get this, tyranny or divinity original sin?
Bernhard Bish (7 months ago)
Man... this was overhyped crap. So disapointed.
Welther47 (7 months ago)
I like Pillars of Eternity... but it's not really what I want. I love the writting, dialog and graphics. But something bothers me about the gameplay and how the story is told. I keep wanting it was a better version of Neverwinter Nights 1 or 2.
simonx49 (7 months ago)
good review, subbed
Jeff Smith (8 months ago)
Trully a great game!
Greenman422 (10 months ago)
You dont need your rogue behind anything for sneak attack you just need the target to have the required debuffs.
Sir Pugly (11 months ago)
I just bought this on ps4, hoping the port is decent. Either way i can't wait to dig into this gem. I already know I'm going to waste countless hours building my party. Appears to be the perfect blend of Icewind Dale - Baldur's Gate - maybe even Neverwinter.
annihilationgamingTM (1 year ago)
I heard, read, etc.. this game clocks in around 80 hours? So is that for the standard edition or complete? Thanks.
annihilationgamingTM (1 year ago)
Thanks:)
HaasGaming (1 year ago)
The standard edition has about 40 hours of main story content. Perhaps if you complete everything it gets close to 80, it's been a while so I'm not quite certain, but it's certainly possible. The complete edition adds the White March expansions which each feature around 10 hours of story content (+ a couple of more hours with every side thing done) each.
Ekielle Arishnikov (1 year ago)
its like baldur's gate with a better graphics
Welther47 (7 months ago)
Almost, yes.
The Hyper Gamer !! (1 year ago)
Should I get this game or both baldur's gate games
Aleksa Petrovic (1 year ago)
I appriciate your review, but I really didn't like it. It is surly the one of the weakest games I played. Most notably the writting is terrible and everything feels repetative. I would probably rate it 4/10 and not 3/10 because it introduced me to CRPG genre and so far I really enjoy Divinity Original Sin (thanks for the review) and I plan on playing The Dwarves and Wasteland 2 (again thanks for the review).
Still Closed (1 year ago)
I started playing Divinity Original Sin a a few days ago , and it is basically my introduction to this category of games. CRPGs. I really like your reviews. To me , a fan of a certain type of games is the most qualified reviewer, and you do a great job. I'm eagerly waiting to experience some more similar games once I'm done with DOS, and PoE has grabbed my attention thanks to its amazing visual style.(imo at least)
HaasGaming (1 year ago)
Thanks, glad you find them useful. Have fun with exploring what is an amazing genre of video games! Regarding D:OS, I'll have a review out for the sequel D:OS 2 probably early next week!
La Sombra Del LoBo (1 year ago)
I played all the great 90s rpgs and I can't wait to take this ride down memory lane.
Széplaki Csongor (1 year ago)
If you don't see the negatives of the game, I won't take your review seriously. This is just a praise. This is why I like LazyPeon.
HaasGaming (1 year ago)
Except I mentioned quite a few negatives? Considering this was a launch review, certainly after playing it for many weeks after that as well I can think of a few more points - although I don't think they're all that crucial personally - like how the stronghold was really disappointing and how the first expansion, White March Part 1 was somewhat of a letdown but that doesn't take away from the fact that, even though this is one of my favourite games in years, I think I certainly mentioned quite a number of flaws when it came out.
Frans Jacob (1 year ago)
Ow to bad I don't have 50+ hours to watch this video
Chris PharmD (1 year ago)
Man the same voice acting from Wasteland 2 really fucked up the immersion factor.
Uther Pendragon (1 year ago)
The main thing I notice about PoE reviews; as compared with reviews of Baldur's Gate 1-2 (Enhanced or not); when people talk about BG2 it's with love; they always mention their favorite characters and stories; I haven't heard one person mention a character in PoE that was memorable to them.
cracmar03 (1 year ago)
I may break your bubble. I remember all of them and I will be. On the contrary I can't remember characters in such let's say Jade Empire ... if I try hard then maybe maybe ... but nah. But I can recite all of characters from PoE just because for sake I never had such facepalmfest during my entire life as to hear their banters or stupid interruptions. I can't count how many times I could shout "Aloth !!" whenever he would do something absurd like interrupting dialogue just so he would simply show his dissgust to npc who was trying to run away to city which he saw as a shithole no better than current place. Then there was Kana ... good Nor. And Eder, Jesus ... Eder. I think he was final winner for my facepalm competition of "Who will make my druid facepalm herself more often". Hiravias with his absurd stories of shapeshifting pretty much nasty sexual stories with it ... Then again Durance would say something rude so even "Mr. Always Nice and Happy" Kana Rua would be angry. People who do reviews like to go on trends. Pretty much BG as series is sooo freaking nostalgia bait. Heck I remember someone back in the day comparing and shitting on Arcanum and IceWind Dale just so he could more and more ride on nostalgia to BG. And to be honest when you ask people who didn't like BG and not praise it and just treats it normal ? My brother cannot mention anything worthy about characters there except from laughing of how cliche one person there was. He literally called it proto-Morrigan. The second person which played BG and which I personally know ? Hates it. He literally hates that game with passion. I played Arcanum and passed it, played all Fallout's and passed them, played Wasteland 2 (PoE is way more memorable for me than Wasteland 2) and passed it, Shadowrun Dragonfall I played too (it had serious problems with plot compared to PoE), played Dragon Ages - all of them, Mass Effect's, the mentioned Jade Empire too, Gothic's - I have reasons to have an opinion of PoE. I didn't finished Planescape Torment just because of problems with it standing next to Pillars of Eternity and Arcanum of Steamworks and Magick Obscura and beating themselves up due to very very very different ideologies. In fact if I think it shouldn't be Baldurs Gate shown as game which gave core to PoE - because under the veil of PoE I saw the game which loved melancholy, stood in times which are about to end always fighting in present with past vs future ... It was Arcanum which I saw in PoE. And no wonder why I saw Arcanum. Arcanum was Troika game. Troika ... a part of ex Black Isle ... Black Isle which basically majority of Obsidian is. It's literally ex-Black Isle. They didn't do Baldurs Gate, they can't write cliche games even if they wanted. And BG fanbase should better leave PoE be. As far as I know they are already disgraced since supposed Dragon Age Origins - the most cliche game ever - is supposed to be the real successor of BG. And that's coming legitimate from BioWare's mouths.
sohpol (1 year ago)
Is is only me or something is wrong with the combat in this game? Everything seems to be fine in theory, but in practice I feel that every combat encounter is repetitive and the same. Additionally there are plenty of those combat encounters and you cannot talk it through out of combat in most cases, therefore making combat boring and irritating in the long run.
cracmar03 (1 year ago)
You surely speak about PoE ? Not about Dragon Age Origins ? And I am not trying to be mean. I am quite surprised. Those are exacly things which I say about DA O combat. Boring, repetative, highly annoying ... well you didn't mention op magic (PoE has it just like Origins) or annoying one animation of attack (Origins problem). However I had no problem with combat. Except for boss fights which demanded better tactics from me.
Damaso Rodriguez (1 year ago)
En-DOO-rahns.
TheDoctorDisrespect (1 year ago)
Holy shit! First gaming review I've watched by this guy and already this is the best damn game reviewing channel on YouTube.
JustDeniz (2 months ago)
he does his homework and goes into the mechanics, exactly what i need to know!
Mario Cavallero (1 year ago)
Liar. It says 50+ hours review but the video only lasts 11 minutes.
HaasGaming (1 year ago)
The other 49 hours and 49 minutes are all silence for artistic reasons.
rustie (1 year ago)
9:23 you said that you can't have just one person stealthed, only the whole party. yes you can...you just have to select only that character and engage the stealth mode.
rustie (1 year ago)
HaasGaming ah, okay. didn't know that 😃
HaasGaming (1 year ago)
That is a feature they added numerous months after launch, this review was released on launch. Hence back then, you couldn't.
Zio Zionisi (2 years ago)
Excellent review Haas. You got right to the point about what this game story is about without spoiling anything. I was on the fence about buying it until I listened to your review. I bought it and it is excellent. Thanks...plus I subscribed.
GuidoAnchovy B (2 years ago)
Endurents endurents
Mack Lee (2 years ago)
Very good review, but enDUrance, not enderence.
Ollie Brandon (9 months ago)
Was looking for this comment
Benjamin Shivar (2 years ago)
Except all the boxes say missing GUI file...
DiRiN (2 years ago)
Is all the dialog so formal?  For instance in baldurs gate, you had people talking as if they were actual farmers and shit.  The dialog in watching your video seems like everyone talks so formal.  Is there any kind of dialog like this:  "Let's see what yer guts be lookin' like!" "Aye, now this be more like it! The first t' disobey me orders gets an axe in their skull."
Chris (2 years ago)
That opening dialogue>>>>
Anihilus (1 month ago)
"I want to boop the snoot!" "It's your hand" "I'mma boop it!"
Londronable (2 years ago)
My apologies but are you dutch? Being from Belgian I seem to notice a dutch accent(as compared to a flemish one to seperate the 2 "languages")
HaasGaming (2 years ago)
+Londronable I am indeed!
TechnoTurtle (2 years ago)
Would this game be a bit too hard to get into for someone who has never played a Crpg? I was looking at this game or Divinity: Original Sin, but wasn't sure which would be easier for a newbie to these types of games.
Ashwin .B (1 year ago)
😂
dawgyv72 (1 year ago)
This comment is over a year old, you don't think he already made his decision..........
Ashwin .B (1 year ago)
TechnoTurtle just get into it it will get easy after a few deaths.
harrythebarry (2 years ago)
its piss easy
TechnoTurtle (2 years ago)
Thanks for the quick response, man. Keep doing your thing!. I like your content and you're a swell bro for answering back so quickly.
Isomer Soma (2 years ago)
30h ??? How? For me it took maybe 60h + ... lol. Am i just bad or what?
Justin Castellano (2 years ago)
So you're saying it's pretty good?
EliKRistberg (2 years ago)
I accidentally saw your Endless Legend review and I gotta say I really like your channel! good work, and honest reviews. Keep up the good work!
Zacharie Richard (3 years ago)
I really enjoyed IceWind Dale 2 and some old might and magic games. Ill definitely look into this.
Acesahn (3 years ago)
I HATED the attributes, and I hated the magic casting from the spells to the fact you cant buff pre combat. In the end I wasnt pulled in enough to even finish this game. They should have stuck with D&D lore/rule sets... they tried to make a user friendly "unique" one but in the end it just felt vanilla and boring.
InRainbows (1 month ago)
yeah that sounds lame sounds like I'll stick with baldurs gate 2
Wank Fucking Speed (1 year ago)
One might wonder why are all poe reviews lies intelectual dishonest and staged piece of shits? Kotuku even said that poe have superb writing roflSHILLmao
Tzi Arnasson (1 year ago)
So fucking true, the attributes just don't seem to be able to define a character, it's like i'm not actually building the characteristics of a person, but just putting random numbers together.I actually gave up on the game because of that, tried playing again i think 3 times. One day....
Filipe L.M. (1 year ago)
Calm down kiddo
tbr2109 (1 year ago)
+Acesahn The attributes were so ass-backwards that the game completely lost me based on them alone.
mj91212 (3 years ago)
I just killed Aloth when I met him. :P
maxx astral (3 years ago)
Great review... This game is superb in almost every way imaginable and executes every part flawlessly...
Yen Nathan (3 years ago)
great review,keep going pal
Amigastar (3 years ago)
Thx for the Review, Pillars of Eternity is one of my all time favourites RPG's.
maziku (3 years ago)
i gotta get this game once my backlog is a little thinner.
Dara Nikolicic (3 years ago)
Great review!
Tylaris ' (3 years ago)
It's a very good game and Obsidian definitely tried to cover everything....but it feels like it just needed an extra "push" in either direction to make it great...better enemy AI, more colorful companions with better interaction, stronger antagonist's presence, more depth to stronghold etc. Still, their best game probably and this time Obsidian will finally get a chance to make a sequel of their own.
Welther47 (7 months ago)
Yes, something is definitely missing. I can't quite put my finger on what, though.
Edvin1011 (1 year ago)
or character builds and mechanics making any sense at all
cricodul (3 years ago)
Do you only review newly released games? Can you review diablo 3 ultimate evil edition? :D or reaper of souls :) You have such awesome reviews!
Markus Cone (3 years ago)
Was thinking of buying this. How do feel it compares to Wasteland 2? I was thinking of buying one or the other. I love both fantasy and sci-fi so it's a hard decision. Also currently playing Arcanum. What a wonderful game. Love your reviews!
Marko Jovanovic (3 years ago)
No problems mate. Happy to help! :) 
Markus Cone (3 years ago)
+Marko Jovanovic Thanks so much. I've picked up Pillars and love it!
Marko Jovanovic (3 years ago)
Wasteland 2 has turn based combat, its combat is quite like X-com. Pillars of Eternity is real time pauseable combat. I personally prefer pillars of eternity. :)
Markus Cone (3 years ago)
+Markus Cone the music in the game is quite good
Royal Mark (3 years ago)
Another good review, Im enjoying my new sub so far
Sinan (3 years ago)
Nice review. Thx!
SaysRobert (3 years ago)
Interesting that you mentioned the existence of dump stats, given what they said in developer vlogs about wanting to avoid that and have it impossible to make a 'bad' character  build no matter what stats you choose.
HaasGaming (3 years ago)
+SaysRobert I don't think it's necessarily due to not trying or intentionally skipping the attempt. It just proved to be too difficult to really balance that way. In an earlier beta version for instance, perception gave +accuracy as well, which would have made it (in)valuable for DPS classes. They removed that, presumably for balance reasons, which now leaves it as a tank-only stat.
SaysRobert (3 years ago)
+HaasGaming Good to know.  Or is that bad to know? :P  I wonder why they didn't make good on all their vision and plans when they were supposedly set free from what held them back in previous developments.
HaasGaming (3 years ago)
+SaysRobert Yeah, I don't think they succeeded on that part. Every attribute helps you, but there are clearly attributes which don't help you in any significant fashion. You can max out dexterity on a tank fighter, and you'll get some reflex defense out of it, but those points would have been spent far and far better elsewhere. There are fairly straight forward builds that you want to adhere to, like maxing might, intel and dex on almost all the damage dealers (Druids, Wizards, Ciphers, Barbarians). Making a wizard focused on perception, resolve and constitution for instance is... well.. bad. Plain and simple.
Anthony I (3 years ago)
By ender-ance, were talking about endurance right? Just making sure we are talking about something not related to the word "ender"
QuessWhatUGoing (3 years ago)
Been waiting on a Haas Review! Another great one! Please keep up the great work
Drezzek01 (3 years ago)
Big, big fan of the original Baldur's Gate and similar games so certainly interested in this.  Do have to ask which out of this and Divinity Original Sin you prefer though Haas.  Divinity is a great game and I strongly suggest any who haven't played it to give it a go.
HaasGaming (3 years ago)
+Drezzek01 Great to hear they've been useful! D:OS was very surprising at the time and contained some great combat. Combat here is of course not turn based, as you can see in the review it is real time + pause and some people might not like that style of combat and prefer the turn-based mechanics of D:OS, but otherwise it contains fantastic writing and story (something D:OS did lack). For me, I enjoyed them both but definitely think PoE is a lot better.
Drezzek01 (3 years ago)
+HaasGaming will have to buy this for certain then! Bought Divinity after watching your review on it and was very pleased with it, if you think this is better then ill certainly give it a go.
HaasGaming (3 years ago)
+Drezzek01 Pillars of Eternity, hands down. I do like Divinity: Original Sin and was very positive towards it, but I definitely think this game is leagues ahead of it.
CoolThingsByJames (3 years ago)
Loved the video man! Keep up the good work!!
ZiggyD Gaming (3 years ago)
Great review Haas! I especially liked how well you pointed out some of the little details that might frustrate. I'll be referencing your review in mine coming out later today.
HaasGaming (3 years ago)
Thanks! And good luck with getting yours out, always interested in hearing others' thoughts on a game like this. 
Jimboola (3 years ago)
Loved the 'D&D' games of yore like Baldurs Gate. Not sure how I'd feel about trying one now though having been 'spoiled' by modern Dragon Age & Elder Scrolls games. May have to check a few LP's.  :)
Edvin1011 (1 year ago)
i couldnt play it with these might for mage etc utterly insane design choices, it just feels like a hottie call you to bed then she sends you home with a blue ball sooo disappointing, and at least you could mod these things but no
Joshua Bahr (2 years ago)
+Jimboola To those feeling the same way, I never played a top-down RPG until recently. I still haven't played another infinity engine game. Even though I love games like Skyrim, Fallout 3/NV/4, and Mass Effect, I am LOVING Pillars of Eternity. The choice, the level of personal interaction with everything, and the amazing writing really makes the world come alive.
Liquid Blade (3 years ago)
It looks really exciting. Like someone else said, seems like a form of D&D style. It's a bit too expensive for me to afford it at the moment, but I'll look forward to it later down the line.
Colin Naipal (3 years ago)
There are really cheap deals at that site, Pilars is 15 bugs
Liquid Blade (3 years ago)
Ah okay. I've just recently got into playing Tabletop RPGs, so it seems really interesting for a computer game. Thanks for the review!
HaasGaming (3 years ago)
That's exactly it. The original Infinity Engine games were based on the second edition Advanced Dungeons & Dragons ruleset, which are by now of course horribly outdated. With Pillars they very much kept that concept in mind and have created a much more modern version of many of those mechanics. 
Dutchbag (3 years ago)
he's alive :O
HaasGaming (3 years ago)
Barely! Here I had grand plans for two other videos earlier, but then Pillars of Eternity. I have no regrets. 
HaasGaming (3 years ago)
Sorry about the FPS indicator in the top left there, didn't notice that at all when I was recording all of these files. At least you can now double check that I record at 60 FPS I guess? 
Ashfalor (1 year ago)
You should have that on screen, should be a staple of any sort of recorded gameplay.
No Mana (3 years ago)
+HaasGaming Shadowplay FTW
HaasGaming (3 years ago)
Pillars of Eternity review! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lpmP2YedC54 No spoilers! Just me nitpicking about an amazing game. 

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.